Skip to content

OT – crowdsourcing

June 12, 2012

Not been at my best lately. Having trouble busting out of this funk I’ve been in for a few weeks where I feel generally awful about myself. Invisible, irrelevant, ignored and generally annoying. Had decided a long time ago to always be honest about my self-esteem crap in case that ever helped anyone, but right now, I’m at a bit of a loss. So you tell me: what do you do when you feel like this to make yourself feel better and stop feeling sorry for yourself?

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 2:53 pm

    I drink. LOL JUST KIDDING

    IDK, usually I try to get away from everything for a day or two, just to try to regain some perspective on everything.

    (oh hey, 10 days until you’ll be doing that – yaaaaay!)

    You are none of those things, Laura; you’re fabulous and I can’t wait to hang out with you again!

  2. Artie permalink
    June 12, 2012 3:00 pm

    I remind myself of how worse things could be…I could be a Leafs fan. But seriously, there are so many little things to be grateful for, the biggest one being that you are still around to feel gloomy. Nothing wrong with feeling down. It’s part of the cycle. It makes the good times that much better. I love popping in some old movies that I know will always perk me up Shawshank Redemption, The Godfather, some old TV shows The Tonight Show (the Carson years of course).

  3. Anahi permalink
    June 12, 2012 3:01 pm

    Believe me. Been there. Am possibly there right now. Take a small trip? It doesn’t have to be far away. Just getting out of town and out of your routine might help. Otherwise, get thee to a gym and work out. Lift things up and then put them down! http://youtu.be/PAXo3Wr_nYU

  4. June 12, 2012 3:29 pm

    I usually try something new, last time I was in a funk I took up jogging which is still a slow progress. It’s hard phasing the negativity around you especially when it’s from within but I usually try to go out, see a friend, try a new recipe anything that will give me a sense of accomplishment. Just remember that you are fantastic, I haven’t even met you and I can tell you you’re a good person which at the end of the day should be the biggest factor to get you out of the funk; knowing deep down inside that you’re a good person. Smile, Laura πŸ™‚

    – SensDew19

  5. June 12, 2012 3:38 pm

    It only takes one thought of greatness to alter your perspective. Remind yourself of what makes you feel live take a step in that direction and do something that makes your heart beat!
    Shine on-

  6. June 12, 2012 3:50 pm

    Exercise and fresh air goes a long, long way. Nothing crazy, say 30mins 3-4 times per week. Usually one bike ride does it for me. That and laying off the bong. πŸ˜‰

  7. Artie permalink
    June 12, 2012 4:05 pm

    okay all this exercising talk is depressing. Can we just focus on sitting on a couch…it’s what the professionals do!

  8. Mr. Miller permalink
    June 12, 2012 4:09 pm

    In their own amusing ways – they’re all right. It really takes either a little time away from what could be causing these feelings or a good view of how things could be worse (like being a Leafs fan). Otherwise, if you can pinpoint what the cause of the problem is – be stubborn in your determination to confront it.

  9. CorneliusMH permalink
    June 12, 2012 6:41 pm

    Relentlessly cheerful and exciting music.

    Andrew W K

  10. June 12, 2012 10:06 pm

    Sometimes going through a rough time is good. It makes you think about your life and what’s causing you to feel invisible, irrelevant, ignored, etc… This time allows you to make changes that move you out of this current situation and into a better situation.

    What do I do when I’m down? I do Zumba. I stomp, dance, shake and pound it out on the dance floor. If I’m still feeling badly, I’ll come home and dance to some music I love. I also tend to tune out the news or anything negative, people, sad music, tv shows, etc…

    I think it’s great you’re sharing this. Getting support from your friends and family is also a great way to improve your mood.

    I love you. I think you’re awesome. I hate that you’re feeling this way. If there is anything I can do, please let me know friend. xoxo

  11. AngusMcCracken permalink
    June 14, 2012 9:58 pm

    Hey, Laura. A little late on this, but hey. I have my hands a little full these days. πŸ™‚
    But to answer your question, what do I do? I throw on some emotional music, take some time by myself, and have a good, hard, cry. Bottling emotions just make you feel worse later. Acknowledge those feelings, revel in them, and then let them go. And when you’re done, know that it’s behind you, and to focus on what things you can control.

    Hugs to you, you’re a fantastic woman, don’t think any different.

Leave a Reply

