Skip to content

We have all dated Brad Marchand, and other miscellany

February 8, 2012

A picture from the beginning of this season that I found in my phone

Here are some really late thoughts on a bunch of stuff.

Gisele

Hey, everyone criticizing Gisele. Have you, like, ever loved anyone? The woman said a couple of angry words in front of an elevator and people acted like she ran down the hallway screaming, ripped off that Giants fan’s arms and beat him to death with them.

Then set him and half his friends on fire.

As to whether that’s appropriate or not, when was the last time you thought before you acted when your significant other was loudly being crapped on by some idiot?

Nos Canadiens de Montréal

Carey Price.  That is all.

Tummy Thomas

When he snubbed the White House, my biggest (maybe only) problem with it was that he took something that wasn’t about him, or the President, or politics at all, and made it all about him, the President and politics.

But that involved his teammates and the White House.

This new rant Tummy posted on his Facebook page from his cabin deep in the woods is something he apparently does all the time, and also, something that doesn’t actually impact anyone but himself. It’s not a thing. We don’t need to give a Kaleta’s ass about it at all.

As Wysh points out, we should make our Twitter jokes about it, and move on. Unfortunately the Boston sports media isn’t so much about the funny and more about the RUN THE BEST ATHLETES OUT OF TOWN. By morning, I expect sixteen stories about how everyone on the roster pleads daily with Chiarelli to trade the evil guy that’s probably going to win them a second Stanley Cup in a row (I’m already stocking up on heroin for the occasion) for a bag of pucks.

Brad Marchand

So a while ago I was thinking, which is usually where I start to go wrong, and I realized that this guy I had a brief thing with back at university looks (or at least looked, at the time) disturbingly like Brad Marchand. I voiced this to a couple of my friends. Turns out one of them went to prom with a Marchand lookalike. Another dated a lookalike for months. Every time I tell someone this, they laugh at me, then they go away for a while and then suddenly they come back and tell me “So, I was thinking about it, and…”

Yeah.

So take a good look at this picture, think about it, and tell me if you’ve ever dated Brad Marchand. I apologize in advance.

ESPN 

ESPN has apparently (not very publicly) apologized for and removed the “complain about female commentators” option from its website. I had honestly been hoping that the reason it was there at all was to filter out ignorant misogynist rants from crazies and send them straight to the spam box, but apparently not. Disappointing.

Bell’s Let’s Talk initiative

If you talked today, or if you talked before, or if you ever plan to talk, thank you. I know what kind of courage it takes to tell people about your experience with mental illness. I know what kind of courage it takes because I do not yet have that courage. I may never have it, although I hope that’s not the case. So thank you.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    February 8, 2012 11:18 pm

    Congratulations on the milestone!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      February 8, 2012 11:34 pm

      Thanks. If I’d been paying attention I may have posted something a little less Brad Marchand and a little more [something that’s coming up in the next couple of posts].

  2. February 8, 2012 11:26 pm

    You’ll always have people to talk to if you ever want to L. *hugs*

    • theactivestick permalink*
      February 8, 2012 11:42 pm

      Thanks, T! I feel very lucky to have that.

  3. leafloveremily permalink
    February 8, 2012 11:28 pm

    I hope I never date a Brad Marchand

    • theactivestick permalink*
      February 8, 2012 11:49 pm

      You have us to guide you if you ever find yourself if a Brad Marchand dating situation, Emily. The university years are particularly perilous. Mostly due to beer goggles. And due to the possibility of meeting the actual Brad Marchand while out with your friends.

  4. February 8, 2012 11:34 pm

    I can say with absolute certainty (and disarming honesty) that I have never, ever, ever dated Brad Marchand.

    Nor a Brad Marchand clone, lookalike, pod person or any other iteration thereof.

    But then, I am a guy…
    … and I don’t drink alcohol!

    Good post, as always!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      February 8, 2012 11:43 pm

      I’m glad :).

      Also, thank you very much for reading.

  5. February 9, 2012 9:08 am

    I was having a great morning until you mentioned this whole Bruins winning the Cup again but then you lifted me up by making feel good about myself for never ever dating a Brad Marchand 😉

    Thanks for giving a mention to Bell’s Let’s Talk. Courage is something we all think we have until we actually have to use it especially to help ourselves. It’s not easy, it never will be but just knowing that there is at least one person out there and yes even a twitter friend who is there for you to listen even if it’s the smallest rant can go a long way.

    Congrats on the milestone, great read!

Leave a Reply

