Skip to content

Habcocked – the saddest Montreal Canadiens game I have ever been to

January 11, 2012

Jaro, for about 99% of the game.

Ken Hitchcock is a very good NHL coach, and Jaroslav Halak is a very good NHL goaltender. But with all due respect to both, the Habs did not get Hitchcocked or Halaked last night. They Hitchcocked and Halaked themselves. Not that these Habs are good enough to beat those Blues but they didn’t even do a single thing right.

Anyway, that was, without a doubt, the saddest Montreal Canadiens game I have ever been to, and it had nothing to do with the score.

In fact, it started before the game even began.

I have never in my life been to a Canadiens game where the entire arena didn’t stand up and blow the roof off the Bell Centre as soon as that stupid Coldplay song started and Michel Lacroix’s incredible voice invited us to welcome the Habs. I was the only one in my section who stood up. I was the only one in any section I could see who stood up.  There was noise, of course, but definitely not much.

I know it doesn’t seem like that big a deal, but it was to me. I have never seen that at the Bell Centre.

It made me really sad.

The happiest St. Louis Blues game I have ever been to

I’ve actually only ever been to one St. Louis Blues game. They beat the Habs 3-0, and Jaroslav Halak was the first star. It was my sister’s first ever NHL game. She’s a Blues fan, and she had a great time.

It made me really happy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jonnee permalink
    January 12, 2012 9:08 pm

    Well considering (which freaked me out btw) it happened once before — 40 years ago — so Go Habs GoGh

  2. January 16, 2012 11:08 pm

    Yep. This team needs a new fanbase. Most of them are not worthy of even watching on TV 😦 But really, the minute Hitchcock was unearthed the writing was on the wall concerning how the game would go.

    I know that feeling, by the way. As the rest of the ingrates were leaving early once the Bruins scored on an empty net, I stood up, yelled “YOU SUCK!” at the leaving hordes and then shouted “GOHABSGO”. They lost, they got screwed big time by a moron in stripes and Komisarek being Komisarek, but I was so happy because it was my first playoff game. And I got to see Yannick Weber score his first NHL goal on Tim Thomas (and like 90% of his goals are now on Thomas) and get the first star.

Leave a Reply

