Skip to content

Bruins-Habs Game 7: LET’S GO, FLYERS! I am not kidding.

April 28, 2011

Glaude Giroux is also the name of a midget wrestler. I am not making this up.

Don’t look at me like that. If you feel the same way about the Bruins as I do, you love the Flyers right now. You are sending the Flyers flowers, jewellery, and Leonidas chocolates right now. You don’t give an anything’s anything what Richards said about Subban, you’ve forgotten why you hate Pronger so much—in fact you’ve decided you’re kind of into his antics, and you look lovingly at Claude Giroux like… well, like you did anyway.

You’ve forgiven them for all almost half of the criminally injuring they’ve done around the league, you can’t for the life of you remember what happened in 2008 or 2010, and you think that goalie carousel (one of my favourite internetz dudes, doogie2k, calls it a ‘Lazy Susan of Sieves’) deserves one last chance.

If you hate the Bruins a fraction of the amount I do, you are cheering the hell out of the Philadelphia Flyers right now, and you not the least bit ashamed.

GO FLYERS!

ONLY FOR ROUND 2, THAT IS.

Your Game 7 bullet points:

  • The Canadiens certainly had an interesting rollercoaster of a season. Was fun while it lasted, and it was unlikely to be much longer anyway.
  • Whole different team with Markov, Gorges and Pacioretty in the lineup.
  • The only thing I’m sorry about is that the Bruins didn’t get eliminated.
  • I wish TSN would kindly stop calling him Subbidoo. Makes him sound like a pothead.
  • All this means is that Claude Julien is employed for up to two more weeks.
  • Carey deserved a lot more support than he got that series. Injuries were one thing, but jitters and unpreparedness were another. The series could have ended in four, and almost none of the bad was Carey’s fault.
  • This series proved what I’ve been saying all year. The Boston Bruins are not as good as you think they are and the Montreal Canadiens are not as bad as you think they are.
  • Stanley Cup contenders, my ass. Tummy, maybe, but not the team in front of him.
  • Pro: I am quite unbearable when I watch the Habs play hockey.
  • Con: It is quite unbearable to wait so long for training camp to start.
  • Pro: No more hockey stress-eating, and I wasn’t drinking much anyway.
  • Con: No more excuses not to haul ass to the gym.
  • Pro: I can now enjoy the Stanley Cup playoffs without endangering my heart.
  • Con: I am still, however, endangering my sleep.
  • This hurts. It’s like Evil won out this round.
  • Full disclosure: I like the Flyers. If you know me personally, this may have been discussed, and things may have been thrown at me. I don’t care what that says about me.
  • I’ll be less grumpy tomorrow. I promise.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. Harry M permalink
    April 28, 2011 12:42 pm

    wouldashouldacoulda blah blah blah bud. You are what you are. Which is not good enough to beat the Bruins. If you lost to evil then the B’s beat a bunch of gutless pukes who have zero respect for the game.

    Injuries are a part of the game. Counting on Markov is like saying #76 has respect for his opponent or the game. Pure punk. Gorges and Pacioretty can go back tweeting.

    Hope the NHL takes a close look at the disgraceful acts that Habs produced throughout the 7 game series. Diving and acting have no place in the game. If they don’t like being touched then go play flag football.

    Enjoy the Alouettes this summer Habs Fans! They actually have a pair! Thanks to Jack Edwards for his wonderful post game analysis as well.

    • April 28, 2011 2:53 pm

      Harry….are you nuts, or just another member of the warped Boston media?

      Did you know that there’s a special in Boston from 5 to 7 pm every night? It’s happy hour on Jack Edwards’ teat. I’d highly suggest you take part but I get the feeling that you’ve had more than your fill already.

      Your classification of the Habs as gutless pukes shows just loaded on Jack you really are. After all, if Jack and his pompom waving cohorts in the Boston media tell you something, it must be true, right? Yell about it often enough, and eventually the knuckle-dragging, mouth-breathing drones will buy it, and it seems that you were too willing to slurp it all up.

      From all indications, you don’t know a dive from a cheerio so rest assured we’ve all taking your comments with an Marchand-nose-sized grain of salt (hat tip to Pacioretty tweet for the nasal reference) all year long.

      Anyway, enjoy watching your cheap-shotting, neck-breaking, head-hunting, bird-flipping, lie-telling disgrace of a team get their rear ends handed back to them. They could *barely* manage to beat a team that was so badly beat up – in no small part because of your team’s unpunished goonery. How will they manage to beat a team that can actually score goals?

      • Harry M permalink
        April 28, 2011 5:12 pm

        Kyle sunshine, I hate all media.

        Unfortunately I don’t drink during the week babe. Not an Edwards fan but I enjoy the fact that it pisses the freaks up there.

        I call it like I see it. The Habs have been irrelevant since Roy walked out and rightfully so. You know it, I know it and the rest of you loons knows it. Just remember that the B’s are the ugly stepchild in my wonderful city. We only love them when they beat your POS team.

        I know plenty fella. Mad Max is a thug. There is no place for so called injured players tweeting. You see Markov tweeting? I look forward to seeing him on his back next year when Marchand takes him out. Again, rightfully so bud.

        I will enjoy the Philty series big guy. Why you ask? because your garbage team isn’t in it. By the way you and the rest of the idiot fans up there (Active Stick not included) lose all credibility when you blame injuries for your choke job. Face it, you blew a 2-0 lead. You have a bunch of thugs (PK at the top list) who made a joke of the game. What an f—- punk.

        Question for you. Who is the starting TB for the Alouettes this year?

        • April 28, 2011 5:35 pm

          “I call it like I see it”

          Then that settles it – you are blind. Totally, hopelessly blind.

          Besides, if the Habs have been irrelevant since Roy left, what does that make the Bruins? If Jacobs didn’t have Bettman in his back pocket, your beloved team would be a perennial doormat.

          You need to have your definition of “thug” revised. Because Pacioretty tweets, he’s a thug? Huh? I guess you’ve been reading Dr. Recchi’s journals while sipping salty sea water steeped with tea. Please switch to bottled water. The tea doesn’t make the bottled water any cleaner. It’s not good for you. Lay off, Harry.

          On the topic of punks, if PK is one, then so is his buddy Marchand. Face it, you can’t stand the thought of Subban neutering your B’s for the next decade and doing it with a smile on his face.

          Since you brought it up, I don’t blame injuries for the Habs “choke job”. I blame the coaches’ system which prevents them from scoring even strength goals. So there goes another one of your “well documented arguments”.

          And since we’re on the topic of choke jobs, isn’t your team the most recent to blow a 3-0 series lead? Not only that, but blew a 3-0 lead in the 7th game?

          No way big boy, just because your goon-filled Bruins beat the Habs this time, doesn’t get your gang of gaggers off the hook, not by a long shot.

          You talk an awful lot of smack for a guy who’s team was one goal away from hitting the links…pretty cocky…verging on a putrid arrogance, especially hiding behind a veil of anonymity, but I guess since your team got that one goal, you feel like the king of the mountain. Enjoy mediocrity!

  2. April 28, 2011 1:14 pm

    noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo… not Phailadelphia (I can’t stop you anyways, you hate the Bruins way more than the Flyers)

  3. Number31 permalink
    April 28, 2011 3:26 pm

    Yea I was all for Team Meteor until Thomas opened his mouth and spewed that shit about PK so fuck em all. GO FLYERS (ew)!

  4. slaky311 permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:47 pm

    Losing to evil isn’t fun. Especially in a Game 7. But like the Hawks, the Habs were dogs and made a hell of a run. I don’t think a lot of people picked them to win this series but they sure as hell took it as far as they could. Again (sorry to draw yet another parallel to Chicago) the future is extremely bright.

    Lucky for us, summers are known to go quickly and it won’t be long until we wake up and it’s September.

    Also, there’s an older gentleman who sits in section 322 of the United Center 81 times a year (I only went to seven games this year but I assume he’s there the rest of the time) who wears the same Canadiens warm up jacket every damn night. Except the day after the Habs beat the Hawks on Subban’s OT goal. That night he wore a Habs shirt under a non-descript jacket. Classy dude.

    Here’s to hockey.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 28, 2011 5:57 pm

      Sure that’s not Fork?

      When I eventually make my way to Chicago, I’ll definitely go say hi. I’ll tell him you sent me.

  5. SensDew19 permalink
    April 28, 2011 11:11 pm

    Another great post 🙂

    Honestly, I thought it would be harder to cheer for the Flyers (cannot stand Pronger, Briere, Carcillo, ok you get it I hate everyone but Carter, Cobourn and Boucher) but take it from me your hatred (which Im assuming equals or greater than my hatred for Sabres) will get you through it, better yet by Game 3 you’ll start to genuinely cheer for them and it’ll be pretty enjoyable unless like me you like Jeff Carter who apparently nobody likes but me :(. Anyways, there are certain guys on the Bruins that Id love to see holding the Cup so I was debating cheering for them this series BUT after hearing what Dumb Edwards said, no media personnel should get air time for such stupidity I dont even care what team or what idiocy he was attacking. Was there “diving” on Habs side? Perhaps…but are you telling me Bruins did nothing wrong this series? From the dumb gestures to questionable hits c’mon wisen up Bruins media and start putting a mirror in front of your own team before ignorantly attacking someone else like that! So ya my unbearable cheering for Flyers continues, but hey at least now Im an expert and it’s easier so ya Im here for support if ya need it :p

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Too Soon « Anything and Nothing

Leave a Reply

