Skip to content

Obligatory NHL playoff prediction post: 2011 Edition

April 12, 2011

Loopy

If you have a blog and don’t post playoff predictions you get kicked out of the internet. Okay I made that up, I just wanted to see what I could come up with under the influence of NeoCitran last night. I tend to be wrong on these things a lot, and as you know, nothing I say should ever be taken to the bank, so really, don’t take this to the bank.

Eastern Conference:

1. Washington Capitals vs 8. New York Rangers

Capitals in 6. Kicking the crap out of a far superior team during their slump in the regular season is no indication of how you’ll fare against them in the postseason. The Rangers would need Henrik Lundqvist to stand on two heads to have any hope of winning. Although New York does have the edge behind the bench.

2. Philadelphia Flyers vs 7. Buffalo Sabres

Philadelphia in 5. I think Philadelphia is going to win the Cup this year. I don’t like to mess with Lindy, and neither should you, but I have a hard time believing the Philadelphia Flyers aren’t going to handily win.

3. Boston Bruins vs 6. Montreal Canadiens

I think it was my cuddly pervert friend, DHSpeedwagon, who said this is a coin-flip series. I would tend to agree. The Bruins are not as good as you think they are and the Habs are not as bad as you think they are. The only prediction I can confidently make about this series is that it’s going to be ugly. Because Zdeno Chara and Milan Lucic are in it. I think that at the end of the day, it’s all going to come down to goaltending – which goalie’s going to blink first? Okay, fine. Which goalie’s going to crumble under the pressure first? Habs in 7.

4. Pittsburgh Penguins vs 5. Tampa Bay Lightning

Key injures and forever-suspect goaltending, meet crazy power play. Tampa in 6.

Western Conference:

1. Vancouver Canucks vs 8. Chicago Blackhawks

…And it’s one for the Dagger and another for the one you believe...

2. San Jose Sharks vs 7. Los Angeles Kings

I’m taking San Jose in 4, because the Kings can’t seem to get it together long enough to do anything, even when they do have Kopitar in the lineup, and, well, they don’t even have Kopitar in the lineup.

3. Detroit Red Wings vs 6. Phoenix Coyotes

The Coyotes fans I follow on Twitter are really enjoying chirping Detroit fans. It’s a shame there aren’t more of them,  really, because the Yotes fans seem to be having the most fun with the whole playoff thing while the rest of us tear our hair out in advance. I could never bet against Detroit in an early round (don’t bring that up or I’ll shank you), so Detroit in 6.

4. Nashville Predators vs. 5. Anaheim Ducks

I’m kind of annoyed at this series, because Nashville was my sleeper pick and Anaheim was my favourite. Grr. I wanted to see who both teams could knock out. I’m going to go ahead and pick Anaheim, because you know I was going to anyway. I say 6 games.

I really like 6-game predictions, apparently.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Harry M permalink
    April 12, 2011 10:45 am

    The Habs are built on their pp. Which means diving and drawing penalties all night long. To say that the B’s aren’t as good they think they are is innacurate. Just some facts below:

    – B’s scored 30 more goals
    – B’s allowed 14 less goals
    – B’s were a +51 compared to just a +7 for the Habs.

    But “stats are for losers” as the great Rick Pitino once said.

    The key will be the zebras and the theatrics led by PK and company. Plus lets hope Big Z doesn’t get arrested at the border.

    B’s in 5.

    Caps
    Flyers
    Pens
    Hawks
    Kings
    Wings
    Ducks

    will advance to the 2nd rd.

  2. AngusMcCracken permalink
    April 12, 2011 5:17 pm

    Caps vs Rangers – Rangers in 6. Goaltending a factor.
    Philly vs Buffalo – Philly in 7. Don’t think it’ll be quite so easy.
    Habs vs Bruins – Simply put: If the Habs play their game, and play disciplined hockey, Habs in 5. If we take lots of penalties, and try to play Bostons game, B’s in 4.

    Vancouver vs Chicago – Canucks in 7
    Sharks vs Kings – Sharks in 5
    Detroit vs Phoenix – Yotes in 6.
    Nashville vs Anaheim – Sorry, Saku. Nasville in 6.

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Pucking Grind. Dark Roast. April 14th « The Rat Trick | A Florida Panthers Blog

Leave a Reply

