Skip to content

An off-topic musing

April 1, 2011

Sometimes,  you have a worst-case scenario of how something will turn out in your head.

And then what actually happens is even worse than what you could have imagined or expected.

And the next day, the sun comes up anyway.*

Nothing you can do but be glad for what you’ve got and excited about all the possibilities.

*This does not apply to the ‘Habs miss the playoffs’ worst-case scenario. Obviously, the sun doesn’t come up the day after that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. AngusMcCracken permalink
    April 1, 2011 3:13 pm

    Hey, Laura.

    Sorry something isn’t going right for you. That sucks. If there’s anything I (or I assume your other readers) can do to lighten your burden, feel free to let me/us know.

    The sun does rise, indeed, and your attitude is awesome in light of whatever hardships you may be facing. Keep going forward!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 1, 2011 3:20 pm

      Thank you, A. As always, your words make me feel better, whether I am down or happy.

      Right now, I’m thankful and optimistic. Truthfully so.

      • AngusMcCracken permalink
        April 2, 2011 1:30 am

        I’m glad to hear it. 🙂

  2. Danno permalink
    April 2, 2011 3:45 pm

    Hi Laura! I just dropped by to say hello and to take a peak at your site. Hope the Habs can stop the drama and win convincingly tonight against the Devils.

    CHeers!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:32 pm

      Hey Danno,

      PLAYOFFS!

      I guess the sun can come up freely after all 😉

      Thanks for reading!

  3. April 6, 2011 10:33 am

    Hi. Just read your comments at Hockeenight. I am a Blackhawks fan down here near Chicago.

    I do plan on visiting Montreal in a couple of years the next time the Blackhawks come up there. I went to Canada for the first time in March to see the Blackahwks beat the Maple Leafs. Canada is a very nice place and I had some of the best food when I was up there.

    Congratulations on clinching a playoff spot. I was actually rooting for the Canadiens last year against the Flyers because I wanted to see an Original Six Stanley Cup Finals. Obviously, I was happy of the turnout of beating the Flyers. Too bad the Blackhawks are stumbling for a playoff spot but it would be cool if both of our teams meet in the Finals.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 6, 2011 11:40 pm

      I remember talking with Forklift about an O6 series… that wasn’t meant to be. He wanted revenge for 71 and 73, I just wanted the Cinderella run to continue.

      Thanks for stopping by -the Hawks crew is one of my favourite fanbases in the league. Any time you wanna come to Montreal, you let me know. I’ll make you a little map of all the places you should eat at.

      Crossing my fingers for the Hawks. Still holding on to the hope they’ll beat Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

