Skip to content

A gigantic favour

January 16, 2011

I’m allergic to both dogs and cats, so I could have gone my whole life without knowing this, but I recently found out what happens to animals that don’t get adopted from the SPCA – they get euthanized. I mean, when you think about it it makes sense that they would do that, but I never had to think about it.

But now that I know it, I can’t unknow it, and here’s why I wish I never knew it at all:

My sister’s boyfriend has to give away his cats, because, like me, my sister is allergic to them. Unlike me, she is extremely allergic to them – I can spend a day or two in the presence of a cat if the room/house is big enough and ventilated well enough. She can’t even spend an hour. So Shawn has to give the cats away. He’d really rather give the cats away to someone with a home for them than to the SPCA.

Here’s the kijiji ad with the information. It says he’d like to give them away before Christmas, but that’s come and gone now and he needs to give them away as soon as possible – time’s running out.

ALSO: IF YOU KNOW OF ANY NO-KILL RESCUE SOCIETIES AROUND OTTAWA OR MONTREAL PLEASE LET ME KNOW ASAP.

I’ve asked a lot of my five readers and followers over the year and a half this blog has been in existence, but I need to ask for one more thing. Please help me get the word out about Shawn’s cats, in case there’s anyone you know that’s been wanting to give a cat or two a good home. Anything you can do to pass this information on is much much appreciated.

They really are lovely cats and he’s taken really good care of them. So tell anyone you know. I know many of you are cat people, because I’ve made fun of you for it (I’m definitely a dog person), so if you know other cat people, please let them know. The cats are in Ottawa, but if you’re in the Montreal area and want them, I will find a way to help transport them, I promise.

Anyone who is interested, has any questions, or has information about no-kill societies in the Ottawa or Montreal areas can email me at theactivestick@gmail.com, or respond to Shawn through the kijiji ad.

So please tell anyone you know, as soon as you can. You’ll be my hero(es) if you help find Ty and Parker a home.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. AngusMcCracken permalink
    January 16, 2011 11:52 pm

    I’m sorry for Shawn. It’s hard to have to give up ones pets. I recently had to euthanize our very ill cat, who lived with us for 12 years, and was the only cat my kids have known. The orange one up top looks like my Beastie, only smaller. 🙂

    I found a link, and I hope it helps. The SPCA in Aylmer is a no kill facility. Let’s find these kitties a new home!

    Hope this helps!

    http://www.aylmer-hull-spca.qc.ca/about_us_e.html

    • AngusMcCracken permalink
      January 16, 2011 11:54 pm

      I should add, if anyone out there CAN take them, please do, as the best case is for them to stay together.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      January 17, 2011 12:00 am

      Andrew, I’m really sorry to hear about your cat. I will ask Shawn to check out the Aylmer SPCA – hopefully that will pan out. I am eternally grateful for your support, as always. 🙂

  2. January 17, 2011 9:24 am

    I wondered what would happen to me once Candace and I moved in together. She had a cat (and wanted another), but we spent much more time at my place than at hers because of the horrid reactions I would get when I visited her.

    Some visits were really bad, where I was choked up, unable to breathe within minutes. Other visits weren’t that bad, but none came without an excessive level of discomfort. When we made the decision to move in together, I knew she wasn’t giving up the cat, would never give up the cat, and I’d never ask her to because I liked him a lot too (plus I’m a dog guy, so another solution to my problem would have to be found). I prepared myself for a love affair with allegra, and for a while, I was taking them quite frequently. Pet stores sell this stuff that you can rub on a cat’s fur that is supposed to suppress or neutralize the dander that everyone with cat allergies responds to, but that didn’t work very well, nor was it very practical because you had to apply it so often. Eventually, though, I adapted and within a couple months I wasn’t bothered by cats anymore, even strange ones. I’m not sure if it’s a proven fact that bodies adapt to allergens, but I know I did.

    I feel bad for everyone here, and I hope Shawn is able to find a home for the cats. The idea of giving up pets to the risk of euthanasia is gut wrenching and I hope it doesn’t come to that!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A gigantic favour « The Active Stick -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

