Skip to content

The closest thing to a ‘before’ picture that there will probably ever be

November 15, 2010

A while ago I decided to own what I looked like, unhappy as I was with it, and change all my avatars to a picture of me. I ran into a bit of a problem, though – I couldn’t find a single picture of myself at my current weight, anywhere. I’ve always hated having my picture taken, and I guess I’ve managed to dodge a lot of photo ops lately. I really didn’t want to post a picture of myself that didn’t look like current me, though, so I used one of pretty much just my face.

In any case, today is Day 1 of Week 3 of Doing Something About It and this is the closest thing to a ‘before’ picture there will probably ever be. It’s brought to you by the genius of one metricjulie, who thought it would be fun to torture our Bruins fan friend, Sarah Connors, by taking pictures of ourselves in Habs barberpole jerseys… just like the jersey Sarah has on in her current Twitter avatar, as a result of losing a Habs-Bruins bet (yet again) with Julie.

Anyway, here it is. I’ve got my best hangover face on.

 

Before Me

Look! It's Sarah Connors! And also 'Before Me'!

 

I don’t know if anyone will be able to get pictures of me as this goes on but if they do, I’ll post them here to show my progress.

I know this is my hockey-related ridiculosity blog, but it’s also just my blog, and many of you are going through this stuff right now, too. So here are a few things I learned in the first couple of weeks.

  • This sucks. It’s hard, and it takes a while to get used to eating well and working out, and it’s hard, and I keep eating or drinking too much, and it’s hard and also it’s hard.
  • You don’t need a gym membership to work out.
  • This is something I really need to work on, a lot, but GET ENOUGH SLEEP.
  • Turkey bacon tastes more like a heated cold cut than bacon.
  • Everything has too much sodium in it.
  • You can listen to Francois Gagnon and watch commercials for 17 minutes or you can do a little strength training for 17 minutes.
  • Bubble baths are incredibly underrated. And scrubbing the tub all the time must help tone your arms, right?
  • I have finally discovered how to cook tofu so you can eat it without immediately needing to spit it out. Send me some Habs tickets and I’ll tell you my secret.
  • Oh lord, this sucks and it’s hard.
  • All it takes is four days of running in the mornings to become disgusted at the mere thought of McDonald’s breakfast.
  • You know what’s good? Baked Mahi Mahi.
  • Tell your friends what you’re doing. They’ll support you.
  • Tell the internet what you’re doing. You will get helpful and/or encouraging emails.
  • You will cheat. It will happen. Just let it happen. One day, not all the days.
  • Being drunk and sad can sometimes happen. Don’t eat yourself into a coma the next day, because working out will help you feel better more than food ever will.
  • Always, always wake up to a clean kitchen. This should go without saying.
15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 10:34 am

    TAS, you are adorable. Don’t let anybody tell you otherwise.

  2. November 15, 2010 12:02 pm

    Everything indeed has too much sodium. It’s a pain in the ass.

    #1 recommendation for any weight loss plan: don’t do something you can’t live without. This may mean doing things a bit more gradually than you’d like, in terms of getting results, but then you’re more likely to actually stick to it and thus keep it off. (Logging everything publicly is another good step.) It took me a couple of years to get rid of all the weight I did, but I did it in stages, and it’s all stayed off four years later. To that end, fuck turkey bacon, get the real shit. And don’t be afraid to reward yourself every once in a while, as long as you don’t “reward yourself” all the time. Cooking in olive oil or canola oil (especially canola oil) instead of other oils or No-Stick is also a good step.

    Something else I tend to do is, a lot of time, I’ll have fruit or veggies or other healthy snacks (LifeStyles cookies are really good), and then when I do have something bad (say, chocolate), I’ll read the label and find out how much I’d have to have to get below 100 calories or 10% of daily fat intake. So maybe that’s 1/3 of a chocolate bar. But that way, I still get the taste of a bit of chocolate, but don’t get all the fat in one go; I can savour it over three days.

    Also, underrated in weight loss: getting enough sleep and getting enough milk/dairy. Lots of recent research point to those as factors that make weight loss easier, because insufficiencies in both can lead to hormonal changes that increase tendency to eat and decrease tendency/ability to exercise. A lot of people tend to cut dairy as a source of fat, but the calcium is necessary, and uptake/effectiveness seems to be helped by something in dairy (though what isn’t clear). Oh, and coffee helps promote fat oxidation. Good news. =)

    So keep up the good work, don’t get discouraged by any setbacks or plateauing (it happens, and for good physiological reason; just step up or change up the exercise), and make sure you enjoy the process. Glad to hear you’re already finding that exercise makes you feel better. I know in my early weeks, I wondered what the hell people were talking about, because all exercise did to me was wear me out. Then I started having more energy and less back pain, and everything started to click. =)

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 15, 2010 9:29 pm

      This is an extremely extremely helpful comment. Thank you so much!

      • November 16, 2010 1:09 am

        You’re welcome. =) I’m a kinesiology major as well as a weight-loss veteran, so I know just enough to get myself into trouble, if you ever have questions.

  3. Happy Girl permalink
    November 15, 2010 12:25 pm

    you look great! keep up the awesome and hard work. 🙂

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 15, 2010 9:28 pm

      We have a shopping date you and me, set for “sometime in the future, in a realistic amount of time.”

  4. November 15, 2010 1:44 pm

    If you need any support let me know. I’m back on my kick and bike about 30 miles a day again. Goodbye booze filled weeks. I’ll miss you terribly.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 15, 2010 9:24 pm

      Yeah now it’s going to be booze sprinkled weeks for both of us. Wish I lived somewhere warmer. Going to have to take it indoors pretty soon.

  5. Andrew permalink
    November 15, 2010 5:38 pm

    Well…you’re officially an inspiration, my dear. I’m beginning with step 1, starting tonight, and that’s giving up Diet Pepsi cold turkey. I generally drink in excess of 2L/day, so this is gonna suck. Hardore. I’m also not going to drink any alcohol at home anymore. Again with the suckage, because I *do* so enjoy a brew while watching the Habs.

    But I can do it.

    I’m still going to have the occasional one when out on the town and whatnot. I’m not going to be stupid and say I’ll never drink it again. That’s setting myself up for failure.

    Thank you for being the inspiration behind all this!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 15, 2010 9:26 pm

      Aww. Thanks!

      If the cold-turkey thing doesn’t work try halving the amount you drink each day. In about a week or so you’ll be able to stop completely.

      Also the drinking, I think, is my biggest problem.

  6. November 16, 2010 11:51 am

    Insert cheesy but true “I heart you just the way you are” comment.

    You’ve got a great plan so far, and taking things a little bit at a time is the best plan that you can have.

  7. November 16, 2010 1:48 pm

    dood. if you need a kick in the ass, you can kick mine in return. I’m starting one of these lose weight kicks too. GO US! just……less barberpole next time plz

    • November 17, 2010 1:17 am

      Hey now. I like the barberpole. I own a barberpole. It frightens small children. It’s great.

      I almost bought a mustard-yellow Preds third when I was in Nashville a few years ago, but I was worried about whether I’d have to pay duty on it. I should’ve gone for it in hindsight. =(

  8. Paul permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:00 pm

    Congrats! FWIW, anyone who’s made you feel rotten for the way you look should be kicked in the teeth. (I’m looking at you advertising industry!)

    If you need a walking buddy (running is WAY over rated), let me know. I started back with training last Saturday, and, strangely, I found I missed long power walks due to a badly sprained ankle tendon. Next Saturday: 10km.

Leave a Reply

