Skip to content

Beyond the exaggemarating

November 14, 2010

So I’m kind of into hyperbole.

Just a little.

The loss of Markov for whatever amount of time he’s going to be out for (again) is potentially devastating to this Montreal Canadiens season. Potentially. Still, I don’t feel as bad about it this year as I did when we got the news at the beginning of last season that he’d be out till Christmas. I know my bullet points have a bit of a Polyanna reputation, but here’s some stuff we didn’t have last year that we do this year:

  • A team identity. The two games the Habs didn’t play like a team, they got shut out 3-0. And then recovered. Last year, they were a bunch of new kids trying to figure out how to fit in at school. This year, much like they did in the playoffs, they’re playing for each other.
  • It wouldn’t be fair to say goaltending, because when we heard about Markov last year, Carey Price had just stolen two games from division rivals and goaltending was not really the problem while Markov was out. Still. If Carey can keep playing as well as he is, the Habs will be fine on that front.
  • The Tomas ‘Jagr’ version of Plekanec. Holy crap. Dude decided to bring it, and it got brung. In the initial absence of Markov, he’s become the one who elevates the game of those around him, and maybe the biggest bang for the Habs’ buck. Pretty sure he’ll keep bringing it with or without Markov.
  • PK Subban. No he’s not Markov. No, seriously, he isn’t, so stop saying it. Still something we had last year that we didn’t have this year. I’m not in the “OMG I LOVE HIM” camp, nor am I in the “What’s the big deal he’s just a dude” camp. I like him. I think he’s a very strong player that’s still learning and making mistakes, but brings some energy and excitement to the rest of the group.
  • Josh Gorges. Nuff said.
  • Maxim Lapierre, warts and all, seems to be fixed. He’s as intense as he was two seasons ago, and as infuriating as he’s always been.
  • Andrei Kostitsyn. I’m tempted to reserve judgement because AK46 is an extremely streaky player, but the contract year, the removal of distractions and the patience of Plekanec are doing him a world of good. Do we do ‘fingers crossed’ for hockey?
  • Tell me what else I’m missing.

So yeah. I don’t feel as bad. But maybe I’m crazy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 8:46 pm

    Seriously, how does Price not get a mention on the All Star ballot. I know I said this to you before but WTF!

  2. November 14, 2010 8:54 pm

    You are not crazy. Or maybe I am.

  3. Number31 permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:13 pm

    You forgot the PhD line! And MOEN!

    Also if they call up Weber for whatever reason, one element that’s on the team that they didn’t have in his previous call ups is PK Subban. Those two guys…when they’re out on the same team its a “anything you can do I can do better” love-fest. Seriously. They’ve been like that since they went against each other in junior then realized they were drafted by the same team.

  4. jon Gasco permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:19 pm

    If Price keeps playing the way he is I’m going to be in a constant state of turned on for the rest of this season.

    EEwwww!

  5. Paul permalink
    November 18, 2010 10:58 am

    One thing about Subban that wasn’t mentioned: the guy very obviously is loving every second of his life right now. He is living every Canadian boy’s dream, and you see his enthusiasm all the time. Can’t remember the last time I saw a player so upbeat and happy. I hope he never loses his current level of joy.

Leave a Reply

