Skip to content

With a little help from my internet friends… and yours, too

November 9, 2010

I swear, it’s back to hockey soon. I promise, or you all get to shank me.

I got up too late to run this morning and later asked Twitter if anyone else was having a “fuck it, Ill just stay fat” day. Got a ton of responses, and as usual, thank you. The biggest chunk of responses was from people like me, kind of struggling with motivation, or energy, or schedules, or just with generally getting in shape. I never envisioned being this heavy before and while I’ve always known it would make me unhealthy and unhappy, I couldn’t really imagine just how much until it happened. 

In any case. I’m working on it. The realistic way. The way where it takes a long time but you don’t kid yourself that you’re not going to want to drink when you’re out with a bunch of your friends, or that you’re going to eat rice cakes on your birthday, or that you can do everything right, or that you can be within a 60km radius of metricjulie and not have any wine. It’s going to take me a really, really long time for me to get back to where I started but once I get to my goal, I’ll be able to weld myself to it.

I know you know how that is. And that some days it sucks. And that you can be serious about what you’re doing but still have some of those days. I also know that if you do have days like mine, you can tweet or email me and have a chat about it. Any any any any time.  Just like you guys are always telling me.

You know where to find me, my five  readers.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Happy Girl permalink
    November 9, 2010 3:31 pm

    We will just have to keep each other motivated. And then go shopping for new clothes when we reach our goal weights.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 9, 2010 9:52 pm

      It’s a date! I forgot that one of the perks is SHOPPING (!!!) for goal weight clothes.

  2. November 9, 2010 3:34 pm

    The number one thing to do is a meal plan. That’s the easiest way. Get used to counting calories, avoiding high sodium, etc. It’s tough. Really tough, but watching how much you eat is more effective than a jog in the morning every day.

    I’ve been trying to cut down on sodium and I swear it’s the hardest thing ever. Everything frozen or prepared is over 500mg of sodium. I love the taste of Mr. Noodles cups. Not the bowls but the cups. I love the taste of the beef one but that’s why my sodium levels are so high and even when I work out hard my body is preserved like a stick of jerky. I’ve had two since moving to Kingston and even that makes me feel guilty.

    The best thing to follow is stop eating after 9, no matter how hard it is. No matter how tempting. I’m struggling with it. Even if you get out of bed at 2PM, stop eating at 9. So far the only thing I’ve really stuck to is eating breakfast every day. Everything else on my eating plan goes out of wack, but I am cutting on the calories.

    From having a trainer, I found out that even the most stringent body builders have cheat days. So there’s nothing wrong with once or twice a week binging. The day after is a good time to go for that run you put off.

    I don’t know, if you need any tips from someone who has the education from paying a trainer last year on how to lose weight, let me know.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 9, 2010 9:54 pm

      Thanks, Aaron! I will for sure be annoying you with questions as this goes on. Also, good to see someone worrying about sodium. Too many of us just ignore it or load up on it in the name of cutting down on calories.

  3. Paul permalink
    November 9, 2010 3:39 pm

    Been there, got the XXL tshirt to prove it. I did find one way to get motivated, and that’s to have a goal. No, not a weight or size goal, but something bigger (pardon the pun) than myself.

    Without changing a damn thing in my diet, hell, I probably ate and drank more at times, I managed to lose 2 inches off my waist and 10lbs over 5 months. Don’t want to sound like I’m selling anything (I’m not, I swear!), but email me if you want more details.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 9, 2010 9:43 pm

      Good job on the weight loss. I think my goal is not weight or size (I know what my size is but I refuse to weigh myself because I don’t want to obsess over the number).

      There’s a Defi des Escaliers that they do in Quebec City. If they have one next year, I want to finish it.
      http://www.marathonquebec.com/sites/defi-en.html

      Being able to do stuff like that has become my goal.

  4. November 9, 2010 3:44 pm

    At my heaviest: 205 lbs. At my lightest: 150 lbs. Today: 160 lbs. You have to cheat once a week. HAVE TO. How I did it: started eating breakfast, switched to diet soda, started to eat 4/5 small meals a day. Mad snacks, yo. Almonds, granola bars, veggies and humus. Also went the low carb route. If I have carbs, I try to have them for lunch. Also, I became a gym rat. It’s tough, crazy tough, but there’s no better feeling in the world than opening your window, or stepping onto your balcony, and throwing your fat clothes out onto the street for good. Good luck!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 9, 2010 9:34 pm

      Thanks Navin. Everything you said is pretty much right, but I have to point out that my favourite thing about your comment was that it was in my language: “Mad snacks, yo.”

      Since I’m a Habs fan, I’ll obviously be setting fire to the fat clothes rather than throwing them out, but when I get to that point I’m having a big party and you’re invited.

  5. November 9, 2010 4:43 pm

    Please allow me to recommend the “death in the family diet,” or perhaps the “breakup diet.” And I remain a long-term devotee of the “cigarettes will never leave you no matter who else does diet.”

    I am trying not to accept the fact (it’s not a fact!) that I will always have “an unhealthy relationship with food.” Especially because of how awful that cliché is. But you might want to ignore my advice because it ain’t actually working for me 😉

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 9, 2010 10:06 pm

      Wow. Where and how have you been?

  6. Andrew permalink
    November 9, 2010 4:51 pm

    Ha! Proved you wrong! You now have *6* readers! 🙂

    Keep at it, milady. Now if *I* could muster up the courage/willpower…

    • theactivestick permalink*
      November 9, 2010 9:49 pm

      You can, I know it. Besides, you have beautiful beautiful kids. You get to run around and have fun with them. They’ll help you 🙂

  7. November 10, 2010 9:23 am

    Make that *7*.

    The “Défi des escaliers” sounds good. I’ve got to get myself in shape, I’m huffing and puffing just going up one set of those stairs…

  8. Harry M permalink
    November 10, 2010 2:24 pm

    Get an elliptical trainer and put it in front of your TV. You can workout and watch the Habs lose!

    You have to exercise bud and I know you can do it!

  9. Mark Kerr permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:51 pm

    Just read this post and I wanted to share my experience and cheer you on!

    A couple of years after university, I made a concerted effort to get in better shape and drop some pounds. The weight snuck up on me (too much sitting on my butt at the Trib office!)and soon I was 200 pounds, not great considering my build.

    Thankfully, my mom was a Weight Watchers instructor at the time and she really helped me. I know some people don’t like the program, but I found that it really worked. I find that there’s nothing really magic about WW; it’s just a simple way of counting calories and forcing you to watch what you eat. You don’t have to cut everything fun out of your life (wine, sweets, etc.) You just have to make sure you have the points to do indulge every so often.

    Long story short, WW in combination with running helped me take 40 pounds off. I ran a half marathon and a couple 5 km races and really enjoyed it.

    Since the kids arrived, it’s been hard to find the time to exercise and eat right, but that’s really just an excuse. A couple of weeks ago I joined the Queen’s gym and started doing 30 minute workouts at lunch hour. I would like to do more, but hey, it’s better than nothing.

    All the best! I know you can accomplish your goals whatever they are!

    MK

  10. Brock permalink
    November 12, 2010 5:15 pm

    Ive lost about 30 since I last saw you.

    I think Ive finally figured out this goddamn healthy living thingy.

    You want some tips, Im your guy.

Leave a Reply

