Skip to content

This post is brought to you by a few thoughts

November 1, 2010
Travis Moen

This is a picture of Travis Moen. It has nothing to do with the post. What?

  • The last post, which will henceforth be known as The Monstrously Ugly Sweater Post, got a little bit (or a lot) louder than I thought it would, and the blogosphere spawned a couple of responses. The first was a fanpost on Lighthouse Hockey entitled “Why Danielle Should Be An Islanders Fan,” which I thought was awesome.
  • The other was the rebuttal from Danielle’s man himself at the2manadvantage. That was also awesome, but I gots an issue with one of his arguments: “If Montreal is such a great hockey city and has such terrific fans, how come not one of them ever invited Danielle to game when she was living there for 6 years!?” Um… Hi Bress. There’s this thing, that only Habs fans and Leafs fans experience, called ‘we couldn’t get a ticket if we sold our children for it.’ The Montreal Canadiens and the Toronto Maple Leafs sell out every single game they play within hours (sometimes one hour) of the tickets going on sale. For as long as I’ve known them, seeing my Habs live has been pretty much impossible. If any one of us could get a ticket, we would have invited Danielle. That’s what it’s like when you live in a real hockey city πŸ˜›
  • As for the rest of you, there will be no pictures of Danielle. She’s gorgeous, take my word for it. If you don’t believe me, ask therangersfan, who has met her in person. She almost turned him straight.
  • Baseball in the playoffs is a beautiful, beautiful thing.
  • Watching the second a team, any team, realize they have won a championship always gives me chills and often brings me to tears, no matter what the sport is.
  • There are a lot of men named ‘Tim’ in baseball.
  • Movember is a month in which men take the opportunity to walk around looking like total creeps in the name of saving some lives. Please support the ugliness, and help raise awareness about men’s health and funds for prostate cancer, by donating to the cause. My friends Brock and Ryan are both doing it, so if you want to donate but don’t know how or where, click on each of their names and see what they’re about. Or donate to both πŸ™‚ Both is also good. I highly recommend both.
  • If you’ve pledged to be ugly this month and I don’t know where your page is, please link it in the comments.
  • I’ve written extensively about bloggers and MSM, bloggers vs MSM, good bloggers and bad bloggers, good MSM and bad MSM, etc. My thoughts on this are constantly evolving, but there is one thing that I have known for sure all along: the most successful MSM and bloggers are those who take their work seriously… without taking themselves seriously. That’s a piece of advice every writer should be given (and every good editor gives it) – Take your work and your passion for your subject seriously, but don’t take yourself seriously. Taking yourself too seriously is like putting up a wall between yourself and your ability to write anything worth reading.
  • My post about Alex Ovechkin’s comments resulted in an incredible deluge of responses of all kinds. I’d like to thank and acknowledge all the people who reached out to me to tell me about their own experiences – people I have never met and some I’d never interacted with before the post. It goes without saying that the people I love hunted me down to remind me that they’re there for me and in the process reminded me how lucky I am. I think I was in tears for most of the day. In a good way. So much love all at once. I love you, too.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 11:54 pm

    Thanks for the plug! I appreciate your help joining the ranks of Wendel Clark, Lanny McDonald, and other great men who have accomplished great things with great moustaches.

  2. Number31 permalink
    November 2, 2010 9:33 am

    Moen!

    Huh what?

  3. November 2, 2010 11:17 am

    Movember is big to me – my family and both won and lost the fight against cancer – and I hate losing – I never want to do it again- here’s the link to my MoSpace – big thanks to L for reminding me to throw it up here – http://ca.movember.com/mospace/876254/

  4. jon Gasco permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:28 pm

    who’d o’ thought?

  5. James.P permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:15 pm

    Both rebuttals are nowhere near as good or convincing as your original post, hence I think Danielle should become a Habs fan.

Leave a Reply

