Skip to content

Trhanna

October 13, 2010
Bellini

In Toronto, I drink giant pink girly drinks.

Remember me? I’m that adulterous traitor girl that’s in love with Toronto and can’t stay away. It’s unforgivable and disgusting and I’m not even ashamed to admit that I’m going to move there pretty much as soon as I can.

The thing that happens when your parents live so far away that just traveling to see them would take longer than the holiday weekend, is that you’re kind of on your own for most of Thanksgiving. Last year I went to see some of my favourite people in the world in New York. This year… of course I went to Toronto. I mean I do it all the time.

As always, I had an amazing time. Much love and thanks to Julie, as always, for being the best road trip buddy in the world, and to the DBlye for being the best Toronto buddy in the world.

Habs-Penguins at Kilgour's. Sadly, we missed the Habs tweetup so we sent them our love via Twitter.

I finally got to go the Hockey Hall of Fame for the first time, which was brilliant. Unfortunately, I forgot my camera in Montreal, which was not so brilliant. I did have my BlackBerry, so it wasn’t a total loss, although you will have to forgive the quality of these pictures.

First thing you see? Vintage hockey sweater. First thing I see? TRAVIS!

The pictures I took in the Montreal Canadiens Forum dressing room did not come out so well when I transferred them to my PC, which is sad. Of course, I sat in Beliveau’s stall. Also, when DBlye and I were standing just outside the dressing room exhibit, we overheard a mother tell her toddler: “That’s the Montreal Canadiens dressing room. They’re more famous than the Leafs.” We just loved that. Anyway, in the absence of dressing room pictures, have a picture of Toe Blake’s hat, er, I mean fedora (sorry, Mike):

I met Toe Blake's hat. I mean fedora (sorry again, Mike).

The nerd in me really came out when we found the point where hockey history meets the history of consumerism. I was all about this stuff…

You know you want some.

Peeking out from behind the Rocket Soup... was Ballard Beer. Posted here with love to my Leafs fan friends and readers.

And because I am so filled with love for my Leafs fan friends and readers, here's some more Ballardation.

Here’s something I was happily surprised to find out a long time ago but I’ll bet you didn’t know: the United Arab Emirates has a national hockey team registered with the IIHF.

I find this really cool.

My almost favourite item in the entire place? The puck. The puck. Yes. That puck.

Iggyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!

My absolute absolute favourite item at the HHOF is something I couldn’t manage to take a decent picture of: an 1893 Stanley Cup ring given to Billy Barlow of the Montreal AAA. I got goosebumps just looking at it. It was incredible.

I am such a dork.

Maybe soon I’ll terrorize Toronto with my dorkiness on a permanent basis.  Hopefully.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 9:30 am

    the HHoF really is the Candyland of sports geekdom. i think i’ve stared at Murray Bannerman’s (or was it Warren Skorodenski’s?) headdress mask for hours, all told. love that place. not even the NHL can ruin it.

    do they still have the Hall of Bizarre World Jerseys From Around the World?

    • theactivestick permalink*
      October 13, 2010 9:50 am

      If you’re talking about the international section, then yes. The Japan one is pretty crazy. DB and I agreed that there should have been a VIKINGSTAD (!!!) one on display.

Leave a Reply

