Skip to content

Hockey is back, with special guest appearance by bullet points

October 8, 2010

I probably won’t be bullet-pointing many games the Habs play this season, but since it was the season opener and today is Friday and I love my readers, let’s do some for Game 1 of the 2010-2011 season:

  • Okay dude Toronto totally stole that intro water exploding all over the ice effect thingy from the Habs. “The Habs did that fire thing during the playoffs. How can we copy it and pretend it was our idea?” “I know! Let’s make it blue! Noone will know.”
  • When they did the introduction of this year’s Toronto Maple Leafs, I couldn’t help but think back to last year. Back then it was Phil Kessel (in a suit, as he was recovering from surgery) and a bunch of Who the Fuck Is That Guy?s. Now it’s a bunch of Who the Fuck is That Guy?s but with a stronger group of Oh, I Know Who That Is. One of my favourite Habs bloggers, Kyle, said earlier this year that the Toronto Maple Leafs were getting better faster than Habs fans care to admit. He was right.
  • I ain’t saying they should plan the parade. I’m just saying, take them more seriously and stop courting bad karma, Habs fans.
  • Even though they still suck.
  • Anyway. As I said and tweeted, if that’s what Price looks like with the flu… Those were not bad goals he let in and he looked hella sharp for the second and third periods. I don’t know about you, but when I have the flu, I don’t even let myself drive to to the pharmacy up the street.
  • I will go on the record and say that I am confident that Price’s overall performance this season will be more than just good enough.
  • Notice I said ‘overall’ and if I hear one word from the haters after a bad Price game I will cut all them bitches so help me.
  • I… um… Lars Eller. In a goalie market where the Stanley Cup Winning netminder was allowed to walk by his team because they did not want to pay him under $3-million for one year, the Habs traded away one of theirs for Top Six material. They traded away a goalie they needed to get rid of because of cap space for Top Six material. Tell me that Halak trade was a mistake one more time and your current face will be traded for a broken version of it.
  • I… um… PK Subban. The Leafs were all over him last night, to the tune of two or three at a time. They were getting in his face and crowding him and jostling him and… it didn’t slow him down all that much. Yes, he needs to watch it with the penalties and the trying too many fancy things. But what does it say about Subban that he was their target the entire night?
  • Did you first feel Cammalleri’s absence after the thousandth time the Habs failed to capitalize on a scoring opportunity, the millionth time, or the billionth time? Can’t help feeling like this would have been a game he’d have rocked.
  • I can’t remember the last time I was as disappointed in a promising player as I currently am in Benoit Pouliot.
  • As a friend of a friend tweeted last night, the Chicago Blackhawks lost their first game last season… just sayin.
  • I may have been sitting across from Annakin Slayd at the bar watching that game. I won’t lie. I stared. A little. Even though it’s rude to stare.
  • On the whole, the Habs blueline was pretty terrible, despite flashes of awesomeness from PK (more in the forward direction than in the defensive direction but let’s not get into that right now).
  • The team was missing its best forward and best defenseman.
  • Against a team that treats Habs games like their own personal Stanley Cup final.
  • And the Habs lost by one goal and were a couple of crazy Giggy saves away from a win.
  • Not the worst start to a hockey season, even though losing to the Leafs always hurts below the belt.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 9:27 am

    -Yay for hockey being back

    -Yay for other people believing in Carey Price

    -Yay for Cammi being back for game 2

    -Yay for The Active Stick

    -And yay for bullet points!

  2. October 8, 2010 10:26 am

    I hate when I (appear to) be right. The Leafs still suck, but they will be a lot better than last year solely because of Giguere.

    If the margin to make the playoffs these days is not more than a couple of points, as it has been over the past few years, then losing last night is two points the Habs may not get back. They’ll have steal a W somewhere they are expected to lose.

  3. October 8, 2010 10:39 am

    • I love you

    • Seriously

  4. Jillian permalink
    October 8, 2010 1:34 pm

    Omg I totally agree about the water thing. I saw that and I was pissed. Like as if we wouldn’t notice!
    And I pretty much agree with everything you wrote. 😀

    I’m enjoying reading our blog, don;t stop anytime soon!

  5. James.P permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:23 pm

    “Tell me that Halak trade was a mistake one more time and your current face will be traded for a broken version of it.”

    You certainly have a way with words… Fortunately I’m not about to tell you the Halak trade was a mistake.

    Agree with the rest – caveat being, I don’t think this Leafs team is much better, or any better, than the last year’s, apart from goaltending. Sure having decent (league average) tending will help them tremendously but this is still one of the most overrated D in the league (I mean, seriously, Komisarek AND Phaneuf on the same team??), combined with a smallish and not-so-talented forward corps (apart from Kessel).

  6. Number31 permalink
    October 8, 2010 11:14 pm

    Bullet points with stars = win

    And we’ll see how much Giguere can withstand trying to prop up that team by December. I wish him luck. No, not really. Habs beat themselves more than anyone.

  7. Mark Kerr permalink
    October 8, 2010 11:22 pm

    You make me laugh!

    Throughout the second and third period, I kept asking myself, ‘where is No. 13?’ Then I finally clued in.

    Which is to say, I think this would have been a different game with Cammi in the lineup. However, Gionta looked great as you would expect from your captain. But you could tell that he was carrying too much of the load that game.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Link Party | The Rat Trick | A Florida Panthers Blog

Leave a Reply

