Skip to content

On Ryan O’Byrne

October 5, 2010

I feel like I have to say this every year. Ryan O’Byrne is clearly on a short leash with the fans (and sometimes with J-Mart). The things I hear about him all the time…

Scratch him.

Send him down.

Waive him.

Trade him.

He sucks.

I would like to remind you all of just one thing: We used to say worse things about Mike Komisarek.

You know, Led The League In Hits And Blocked Shots One Year Mike Komisarek?

Markov’s Pairing Mike Komisarek?

We Were Devastated When He Left Mike Komisarek?

That Mike Komisarek.

Ryan O’Byrne is a better skater than Mike Komisarek. He’s also cheaper and less injury prone. He’s a big body who can hit. (Cause you know, we have an abundance of that on the Habs.) He’s wasted at the AHL level. And he’s wasted on the bench. You Big Sexy hataz need a little more patience with him, as does the coach. He ain’t gonna stop making mistakes if he ain’t playing.

But the Habs need him.

He’s not going anywhere.

He better not be, at least.

Sidebar: I feel like I need to be scrubbing myself with steel wool as I say this but… I’ve always found Shane O’Brien all kinds of hot. Now that it appear he may be traded to Nashville, I feel a liiiiiiiiiittle better about it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Number31 permalink
    October 5, 2010 9:27 pm

    The only thing I have to say about Rhino is: I give hugs too poor misunderstood hockey players, do you need one?

    People need to lay off him, else I start throwing punches.
    (Yea, I was there when he put the puck in the net, and I was there at the next home game too. I started the WOOOOOOOOOO cheer when he came up on the jumbotron to drown out the boos and people started following my lead. Victory!)

    I also know how hard he hits. Nearly deafened me through the radio crunching some poor AHL guy mwahahahaha…

  2. James.P permalink
    October 6, 2010 12:55 pm

    Always liked the big guy… he’s shown flashes of belonging in the NHL – surprisingly enough (not), these happen when he’s playing with Markov.

    I honestly hope he’s given a true good chance of making it in Montreal, it’d be a shame to see him flourish elsewhere – and our guys get demolished by his checks. Because he can hit.

  3. Harry M permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:03 pm

    Active Stick, if you believe that Ryan O’Byrne will be a difference maker this year for the Habs then it is going to be a long season. This guy doesn’t make the regular rotation on legit playoff teams.

    Almost time for opening night!

  4. October 10, 2010 8:45 pm

    Shane and I share a hometown… Want me to see if I can get his new number in Nashville? Lol

Leave a Reply

