Skip to content

Why yes, I am a certified Chris Higgins expert…

September 21, 2010

Well, I would be, if there were such a thing.  I think we all fell in love with Higgy a little the day he was drafted by his childhood favourite team. How could we not? His father, also a longtime Canadiens fan, cried tears of joy and also Chris has beautiful eyes. But while the rest of you monkeys slowly (or abruptly) fell out of love with him, I remained a faithful stalker fan.  Watching his career hover precariously over the toilet for the past year, or a little more, has not been fun, but I’m hoping a fresh start in Florida will do Higgy some good. I’m choosing to ignore that he is now living in a city with an even bigger and more hedonistic party scene than Montreal.

Chris Higgins

Why he's on my Laminated List of 5 People (special thanks to The Rat Trick for the photo)

When Frank from The Rat Trick asked if I would give him my thoughts on Chris, I was obviously happy to oblige. I tried to be as objective as I possibly could, but as you all probably know, it’s really hard to be when you have the kind of irrational love for a player as I do for Chris. Still, I think that Panthers fans who aren’t familiar with my future husband will get a decent idea of what to hope for from our conversation. Frank posted our discussion in two parts on The Rat Trick. If you’re at all still interested in my Higgy, here they are:

Finding Christopher Higgins, Part One

Finding Chris Higgins Part Two

Huge huge thanks to Frank for giving me an opportunity to talk about Higgy. I miss Chris tons.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Number31 permalink
    September 21, 2010 11:05 pm

    Higgy, in Miami.

    My first thoughts were “Scarface”.

  2. Andrew permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:07 am

    I miss Higgy, too. I remember “Gettin’ Higgy With It” every time he scored or made a good play, and hoping he’d be the Habs version of Gary Roberts…an inspiration in regards to health and his awesome workout regime, both on and off season.
    I wish him all the best, and will continue to track his progress.

  3. Frank (therattrick.com) permalink
    September 22, 2010 3:41 pm

    If Andrew doesn’t mind, I’m going to borrow the “Gettin Higgy With It” slogan!

    Thanks again Laura, and I appreciate the link back! So far he’s had a good camp.
    I am hoping that he finds his game down here! We desperately need some goals!
    As for the distractions of South Florida, well, let’s just hope he’s learned his lesson.

  4. December 29, 2014 10:39 am

    A few years ago I’d have to pay someone for this inaoomftirn.

Leave a Reply

