Skip to content

Things I will not miss when hockey starts

September 10, 2010

During Labour Day weekend, I was cooped up at home with a vicious sinus infection that kept me at home and bored out of my mind for the better part of five days. Naturally I did the only thing I had the energy to do, which was to troll the internetz for new targets of my apparently merciless cyberwrath hockey-related anythings of interest.

As the saying goes, too much hanging around the internet is incredibly bad for you. I don’t actually know if there’s a saying that goes like that but it’s something I happened to find out for myself. Spend too much time staring at your screen and almost anything will anger you, and you in turn become a pretty unbearable member of the internet community. When you put that together with an offseason so long you forget what a Florida Panthers sweater looks like by the end of it, the results can become quite messy.

  • I’m not just talking about the Dan Ellis stuff. Yes, we went a little too crazy with that, but we’ve been doing it with various things all summer long. While I stand by my thoughts on Ellis, I do also realize that the lack of anything else going on may have kept the interest in the story up long past the expiry date. It’s coming to an end now but it was getting incredibly personal for everybody who even so much as thought about the issue.
  • The blogger-vs-MSM debate is always going on and to be honest I really geek out on that stuff, having been on both sides of the fence. I don’t think there will ever be a shortage of things to say about it, and I love hearing and reading other people’s perspective on it. That said, when there is no hockey going on, the debates and arguments often become petty and vindictive and blow up in people’s faces. Ya know, when the MSM is not plagiarizing the blogosphere that is.
  • Can we stop with the whiny self-centric tweets on Twitter? I know I am sometimes guilty of them, as are we all, but sometimes I just want to shake some people and ask them what the hell is wrong with them that they can’t ever be happy with who they are and what they’ve got. I follow most of the people I follow because they are hockey fans or what I like to call hockey informers, Red Sox or Arsenal fans or informers, or friends. When there ain’t no hockey to talk about, why must we resort to whining or raging about the coffee at work being shitty? Newsflash: the coffee at everybody’s work is always shitty. Please tell me about something happy, good, or at least interesting that you did today.
  • Snappy people. For the first time since I’ve been blogging, the haterade is getting personal and sometimes public. I don’t get it as bad as I’ve seen some people get it, but when some rando in some town somewhere who thinks it’s okay to be a Penguins and Capitals fan at the same time starts using high-school put-downs it can throw you back a little. It’s like, do you disagree with something I am saying? No, you’re just being a huge douchebag? Please take it elsewhere. Like somewhere Leafs fans hang out.
  • Offseason me :(. When there is no hockey going on and I am going stir-crazy I can get a little carried away with stuff that doesn’t matter. I am incredibly lucky to have the readers and followers I have (and the love they don’t just shower but pour my way) and sometimes I can forget that and let silly things get to me.

A couple of things I will miss:

  • I am both real-life and internet friends with a bunch of Red Sox fans. If you know anything about the season the Red Sox have been having, you’ll know we’ve been pretty frustrated with a lot of things. But there are always the few fans out there that will have Jose-Canseco-Style meltdowns every time they’re watching a game and the Red Sox are down a run or two or nine. It’s insanely hilarious, and I will miss it very much when the Red Sox season ends. No, I am not telling you who they are but if you find them on your own, enjoy!
  • Getting along with other fanbases, cause that’s not even going to last through the preseason.

Hopefully by the time this post surfaces and you are reading it I will have worked out a tiny hiccup that was preventing me from taking a mini-road trip. Although I’m not sick anymore, all my good friends have booked it out of town (mostly Europe, the bastards) and I cannot spend another weekend cooped up anywhere. Aside from a likely failed attempt to buy Canadiens tickets, I am going to try my best to stay off the webz for the weekend although, who am I kidding, the usual road-trip and night-out tweets will rear their ugly heads on my Twitter feed. Hope they don’t get too crazy…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 9:43 am

    I’m not a hockey fan (I read this blog cuz I’m a Laura fan), but one passage in this posting jumped out at me. “… an offseason so long you forger what a Florida Panthers sweater looks like …” My reaction was: really? Didn’t hockey just end, and now it’s starting up again? It seems like the longest-running sport (and, ergo, the shortest offseason) out there! Of course, this means counting the preseason, which (I’m told) runs forever! 🙂

    Of course, I’m a football fan, so I must get by on once-a-week regular season games for only 16 weeks. 🙂

  2. Harry M permalink
    September 10, 2010 10:27 am

    There is something to be said about the 2010 Sox team that sent 20 players to the DL and stayed in contention all the way into September. Suck on that Jays and their fans!

    Tommy Legend’s quest for the 4th Super Bowl begins on Sunday by the way. May the young man with the long history of driving indiscretions who crashed into Tommy before his massive contract extension lose his license forever!

  3. Frank (therattrick.com) permalink
    September 11, 2010 11:09 am

    While I appreciate the reference to forgetting what a Florida Panthers sweater looks like, when you actually live down here and the team is pushing that awful third sweater all over the place, we indeed want to forget what it looks like!

    Sad, but true, a long summer makes our minds wander, and causes too much internet surfing.
    But in your case, it works out. Your “surfing” most likely recharged your batteries!

    Season’s almost here. Thank god!
    Cheers

    • Number31 permalink
      September 11, 2010 12:33 pm

      Guh! That third sweater doesn’t even make sense… It’s not even the right colours. I’m thinking the meeting went like this: “Hey look! Our sweaters are too original in colour scheme guys, so let’s steal Rimouski’s sweater and stick that new trendy circle thingy and rebrand!”

Leave a Reply

