Skip to content

A year in thanks

September 3, 2010

A year ago, I got a new Twitter account and a new WordPress account, and I have pretty much been thanking people ever since.

This weekend marks exactly one year since theactivestick was born, and this is just shy of my 200th post.

I am constantly amazed that anyone other than my mommy would read what I have to say. My heart jumps every single time someone says I made them laugh. I’m not being modest. I honestly had no idea this would go from something I told a couple of my friends about to something that gets read daily by hundreds of readers that I’ve never met.

Which is why I have a lot of monkeys like you to thank. There are too many names to mention each one, so maybe check all of the below that apply to you. This will get kind of long but if you don’t read all the reasons I love you I will roundhouse kick you in the face, à la metricjulie.

  • Thank you for reading my earliest blogposts, even though in retrospect, many were pretty meh.
  • Thank you for telling your coworkers to read my blog even though you kept forgetting to.
  • Thank you for all your comments and replies to every post.
  • Thank you for reading my blog even though you don’t like hockey because that’s what friends do.
  • Thank you for putting up with my excessive Twitter blathering.
  • Thank you for linking to my blog on your own sites, for retweeting posts and tweets, for recommending me to your own followers and readers.
  • Thank you for linking to me on other people’s turf, too, come to think of it.
  • Thank you for buying an internet friend a beer or a shot or three on her birthday so she wouldn’t be stuck all lonely in Toronto that night.
  • Thank you for burying a link to my blog at the bottom of a guest piece for Puck Daddy, bringing me a whole new bunch of regulars.
  • Thank you for linking to my blog and happening to be Puck Daddy (Greg Wyshynski) at the same time.
  • Thank you for your badly-spelled territorial hatemail.
  • Thank you if you have ever invited me to write for you.
  • Thank you if you have ever pestered me until I gave in and wrote for you.
  • Thank you for the photoshops.
  • Thank you if you have ever had me on or invited me to guest on your podcast.
  • Thank you if you have ever mentioned my tweets or my blog on the Team990.
  • Thank you if you have ever interviewed me on the Team990.
  • Thank you if you have ever listened to any of the above, and encouraged me to keep doing things like that despite my tremendous nervousness.
  • Thank you for that email. You know who you are.
  • Thank you for comparing my blog to bacon wrapped in bacon.
  • Thank you if we have ever worked on a post together in any way.
  • Thank you for being happy for me whenever something good happened.
  • Thank you for inspiring my humour and informing my arguments.
  • Thank you for taking me to hockey games.
  • Thank you for watching hockey games at a bar with me.
  • Thank you for helping me through a difficult summer, going on road trips with me, making me laugh, making me drink, making me make friends, lecturing me about being too hard on myself, lecturing me again about being too hard on myself, heading my PR team, giving me space and getting in my face, and most of all, for giving me balls. Oh, right, and that being an awesome friend thing, that’s pretty cool too.

Thank you for reading.

I have, without question, the best readers in the world. I love you all.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 9:21 am

    Thank you for bullet points.

  2. September 3, 2010 9:21 am

    #welovetheactivestick

  3. therangersfan permalink
    September 3, 2010 9:29 am

    No problem (where applicable).

  4. September 3, 2010 9:51 am

    You’re welcome? Thank you for writing?

  5. ShadowMeaning permalink
    September 3, 2010 9:57 am

    Thank you for my first mention in a blog. Bacon wrapped bacon is delicious.

  6. September 3, 2010 10:06 am

    Ironic thanks for raising the bar on blog anniversary gratitude posts. Mine is coming up and now I’m all shy.
    You deserve everything you mentioned! Keep kicking ass.

  7. Andrew permalink
    September 3, 2010 10:10 am

    I believe we should be thanking YOU. I’m a new reader, admittedly, but it’s folk like you that make the Internet great.
    You don’t *have* to, but you give us your time, your heart, your passion, your sense of humour on a regular basis. You entertain us, make us laugh, make us think.
    Hell

  8. Andrew permalink
    September 3, 2010 10:12 am

    (continuing from last post…stoopid iPod!)
    Hell, I hardly keep up with twittering, let alone blogging. Good on you, and keep up the great work!

  9. Andrew permalink
    September 3, 2010 10:17 am

    Oh, and I totally concur about the bacon wrapped bacon comment. Both on the comparison, and the idea of deliciousness.

    Mmmmmmm….bacon…..

  10. Lisa permalink
    September 3, 2010 10:24 am

    Thank you!

  11. Mel permalink
    September 3, 2010 11:50 am

    I agree with Andrew above. we should be thanking you! I’ve only recently started reading your blog and it’s one of few that I really enjoy. I love your writing style and your sense of humour. Keep doing what you’re doing and congrats on the almostoneyear mark! 🙂

  12. September 3, 2010 12:07 pm

    Keep it coming… one year is clearly not enough as we’re all still here reading!

  13. Harry M permalink
    September 3, 2010 12:16 pm

    Thanks for writing Active Stick!

  14. Frank (therattrick.com) permalink
    September 3, 2010 3:35 pm

    Thanks for your writing. Don’t change a thing.
    Or I will pester you to go back to your old ways!

  15. September 3, 2010 11:56 pm

    Who starts a hockey blog on labor day weekend? 😛 Congrats, Laura.

  16. September 4, 2010 1:28 am

    Thank you, yo.

  17. Mike permalink
    September 4, 2010 2:03 am

    Keep up the great work. It’s always a good read. I wholeheartedly agree that it’s the blog equivalent of bacon wrapped in bacon.

Leave a Reply

