Skip to content

Vintage theactivestick and our Yzerman problems

August 1, 2010

My good friend DBlye seems to have dug up some vintage me, circa World Cup 2006 (I think). He sent me this message earlier:

Below is possibly my favourite piece of work that you have ever written. To provide context, it was to settle an argument between Jon [last name] and I on the differences between English and Italian football fans.

“Jon, we do not make fun of England fans when there are Italy fans to be made fun of. You see, it’s simply a waste of time. I mean, France fans kind of do the the same thing as well, but again, next to the Italy fans, they’re nothing. See, England has the hooligans and France has the fanatic egotism (plus that whole not showering enough thing) but Italy fans? I’ll try to explain in a language you are more proficient in.

Take one Red Sox fan. Add a pinch of Habs fan (shut up, I am one myself) and two heaping tablespoons of Leafs fan and mix well. Cover with two Lakers fans and bake at 475 loud obnoxious phrases that don’t mean anything. Top with half a cup of Packers fan, half a cup of Patriots fan and leave it to stew over something unimportant for a while. Now the last step is very important. YOU MUST COMBINE JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF THESE INGREDIENTS AT JUST THE RIGHT TEMPERATURE. They don’t work separately. A dash of Mets fan, a slice of Yankees fan, one part White Sox fan and a bit of Cubs fan. Again, you must combine it all together veeery carefully and then pour it all over what you baked earlier. Freeze it for two days while it gets over losing game seven of the finals/the Superbowl/whatever. It is now ready.
What you’ve ended up with? About 0.00001% as obnoxious as an Italy fan.

Now do you begin to see? It’s not really about how often their team wins or loses, is it. It’s just… the… way… they… are.
Hope this cleared it up.”

I guess I’ve always been good at hate-ons. A big Thank You to DB for digging that up and sending it to me, I got a little nostalgic, too.

In any case, I was scratching my head wondering why the Montreal Canadiens would want Alex Picard for a year, and Don’t Trade Vinny’s crack reporting helped me figure it out. Clearly, this Yzerman dude has got to be stopped, check DTV out and find out what Stevie’s done now.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 5:49 pm

    I think we’ve officially lost you.

    It was some good times.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      August 1, 2010 6:20 pm

      How have you lost me? I’m still here!

      • August 1, 2010 6:29 pm

        It feels almost like your opinion is becoming twisted for spastic, reactionary Hab fans because that’s the easiest blog audience. The ones who don’t think anything through and just immediately go towards whining or coveting what someone else has. Maybe I’m off track but this feels like my friends who decided to get a Playstation and no longer come over for four player Goldeneye battles on my N64. You’ve gone to the dark side. RIP 😦

        • theactivestick permalink*
          August 1, 2010 6:38 pm

          Are you talking about my post from four years ago or my link to a joke blogpost about the Lightning?

          I’m confused. The last opinion I expressed might have been my Halak trade post.

          But if you feel I’m changing the way I think to get more readers, then please elaborate. I think it’s an unfounded criticism but you’re certainly entitled to your opinion and I’d like to hear why you feel that way.

          • August 1, 2010 6:47 pm

            It also has a bit to do with the Picard twitter and post. You used to be someone really good at standing back when something is done and actively (har har) trying to figure out why something was done. Now it feels like something happens, go with the negative gut reaction.

            Now, not everything has been that bad (and besides, a lot of my friends who converted to Playstation converted to the Wii years later. There is hope for all!) and some was funny. And some of your posts were solid and about people not overly reacting, but I just feel some stuff isn’t up to what should be your standards.

            Tis all. It’s really not fair though, since I don’t have a blog to read and actively criticize. Don’t worry, I’ll be changing that soon 😉

            P.S.: Do you still heart Travis Moen?

  2. Number31 permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:59 pm

    It’s really weird how the comments go all squishy like that!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Vintage theactivestick and our Yzerman problems « The Active Stick -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

