Skip to content

Blogger rants about journalist rants about bloggers

June 29, 2010

So, what’s new in “real” sports journalists calling out bloggers? Apparently Tim Baines of the Ottawa Sun, who has his panties in a bunch because he apparently hadn’t realized that Senators fans can sometimes get their panties in a bunch. Note to Baines: don’t hang out in Vancouver.

Of course, as Joe points out, the piece contains the obligatory ‘mother’s basement’ reference, to which I say this. (That may have been the height of my career as a semi-professional tweeter right there, by the way.) A connoisseur always knows to look for that in a good blogger-bashing from someone in the mainstream media.

The second thing you have to look for is the “real” journalist’s reference to his or her sources or connections that bloggers, of course, don’t have. The journalist has been working in the industry for so long and knows people and the blogger (in his mother’s basement) can’t possibly know anything, so stop reading blogs.

My four readers, remember this: unless the rant has both of these elements, it’s really a sub par rant and not worth your time.

Moving on…

It’s pretty painful to watch these MSM guys so woefully, woefully Not Get It. Especially those who work in the world of sports, the only industry besides the music industry where bloggers are slowly but clearly becoming more influential than so-called “real” journalists.

Instead of rolling with it and effectively trying to become part of this shift, the some members of the MSM seem determined to become more irrelevant with some really anti-social social media behaviour.

Sure, there’s your Bob McKenzie or your Dave Stubbs, who will occasionally (rightfully) call out absolute idiots on social media forums (according to the Legend of Bobby Mac, he once called someone an ‘assclown’ on HFBoards), but who are extremely good at engaging with their fans as well as fellow journalists and (gasp!) bloggers.

But most of the time, you have your overly sensitive, middle-aged-or-aging sports columnist, with extreme insecurities about their job and relevance in a world where a photoshop of Sidney Crosby crying or something will get more hits than four weeks’ worth of column.

Blocking a blogger (aka reader) on Twitter because he makes a joke about the wildly improbable rumours you publish? Sounds like Bruce Garrioch. Gainfully employed and quite popular despite his inability to correctly predict anything… so how insecure is that?

Damien Cox will do you one better: he will take your bait and fight with you, then block you, then tweet about blocking you (you, the reader). And then go write a column about how the Toronto Maple Leafs eat babies.

But I think that the best, best example of How Not To Make Friends With The People Who Maybe Possibly Might Have Read Your Shit is this:

Have you finally realized you have not been relevant for a very long time and nobody will ever care what you have to say again? Pull a William Houston. After he was done making unnecessary, untrue, vicious, remarks about currently employed journalists, he decided to get into it with my evil nemesis (remember him?)…

…which, you know, is fine if you’re a 12-year-old (mentally, at least) self-proclaimed Ridiculosity Peddler like me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 10:01 am

    Laura, I have to tell you … I couldn’t care less about hockey – even though I’m from Chicago – and I don’t know who the players and journalists you talk about are, but I love your blog! Your writing style is exquisite, and you keep me interested despite my total lack of knowledge of or passion for the game you love. 🙂

    • theactivestick permalink*
      June 29, 2010 10:22 am

      Oh just wait until I come to visit, Carrie! I’ma introduce you to Jonathan Toews and you and E will be raising little hockey fans before you know it!
      Your comment made my day. It was such a great surprise. ❤

  2. June 29, 2010 11:30 am

    Well. Tell me how you really feel… LOL. As you know, there aren’t many journalists out there who think as poorly about fellow journalists as I sometimes do. My ‘blogging’ life always brings me more entertainment than my ‘journalism’ life and often times it is the first place I turn to for information.
    My fellow bloggers – at least the ones I know – are some of the most intelligent, well-informed writers I know and – as you know – are sometimes who I turn to when I’m unsure of something in sports.
    But I sure hope you’re wrong about the relevancy of real journalism because I’m busting my ass to become one and if there isn’t a bigger pay cheque involved at some point, I’m in all kinds of trouble. As a blogger, I often talk about teams like the Habs but how in depth could I get if I actually covered them as well? I believe there is MUCH to learn about journalism an average blogger wouldn’t know, because if that’s not true, I wasted a pile of money on tuition.
    As I said, the bloggers who decide to take the necessary time to research their topics can only be a positive influence – whether about sports or about oil spills – but a world without real journalists scares the shit out of me. As one who lives on both sides of this fence, I just hope there is a balance where bloggers and journalists understand and appreciate what they do for each other.
    Because in 2010 I don’t believe one can exist without the other.

Trackbacks

  1. Blowhards, bloghards and genuinely awesome people « The Active Stick

Leave a Reply

