Skip to content

A very dramatic post about how I need suggestions for bet terms

June 25, 2010

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I have been a fan of the German football team since I was 9. None of the four countries I am from ever make the World Cup (the last time Canada did, I was 3), and for the last almost 20 years I have been cheering for Germany at every international football tournament.

If you follow me on Twitter, you also know that I am lucky enough to have some amazing people in my life whom I love very much. But when it comes to football, all bets are off (or on, as the case may be) and tears become the order of the day.

My good friend DBlyeUnfinished is an England fan. He actually has some English in him. What we had initially thought was quite unlikely has become the unfortunate reality thanks to something called Robert Green Overmoisturized And It Seeped Through His Gloves, That Nonce.

Our beloved teams will now face each other in an elimination game on Sunday morning. At first, we both considered maintaining radio silence until the game was over, but in the end, internet hooliganism won over, cause ‘hooligan’ is my favourite word. Since we’re friends and also neither of us will be at this game and therefore cannot beat the crap out of each other at the end of it, we decided a bet was in order.

We would like some bet term suggestions. We will likely be betting our Twitter avatars. We kind of threw around a ‘loser has to sport a France-related avatar until the end of the World Cup’ thing but then we got into jokes about the French and got distracted.

We need something sufficiently humiliating but remember that our friendship has to survive this humiliation, so no Italy avatars.

Whatch’all think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 4:06 pm

    I hear Greece is nice this time of year…

  2. June 25, 2010 5:46 pm

    As grotesque as I feel being on your side in a matter of sport, I will suggest this oldie but goodie for his avatar after England are rightfully sent packing:

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A very dramatic post about how I need suggestions for bet terms « The Active Stick -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

