Skip to content

On self-respect and self-importance

June 14, 2010

Life has been a little crazy lately and my mood has been a little bit all over the place. As is my habit, when things in my life started moving too fast I started overthinking some stuff.

A few days ago I unfollowed a couple of bloggers on Twitter that I really used to admire and respect because I suddenly realized that all that respect had turned into revulsion. I respected them for building a huge blog comprehensive hockey website out of nothing and lost all of that respect when I noticed the disdainful tone with which they interact with some people. And when one of them turned that tone on me I decided I had had it with both and removed them from my twitterfeed. I have never let anyone talk to me as though I’m inferior to them in real life and I wasn’t about to start doing it on the internet (which is serious business, I’ll have you know). The unfollow button is a wonderful, wonderful, drama-free thing.

When I started this blog back in September, I sent an email to exactly 13 of my friends to let them know that I had started a hockey blog because I needed a creative outlet oh and also I’m obsessed with hockey. Some of them actually checked it out. They told their friends and coworkers, who told their friends and coworkers while I started talking to people (like the lovely metricjulie) on Twitter, and 9 months later I’m sitting here with hundreds of times the readers I started with. I’ve been lucky enough to guest post on other websites and be invited to guest on podcasts.

The thing I love most about this blog is that it has introduced me to so many people who love hockey as much as I do. Some bloggers who are far, far greater than I would ever hope to be. Some “real” sports journalists that I’ve learned so much from in single conversations. Mostly, other hockey fans who may or may not have Little Blogs That Could like mine… or be really active on Twitter… or message boards… or who just like to send me random ‘fanmail’ consisting of nothing but Maple Leafs insults I’ve posted and a smiley-face. You guys are the ones that mean the most to me.

After I finished university I had every intention of becoming a journalist and staying one for the rest of my life. I started out doing fine (if a little… er… budget-challenged)… until an editor at a national paper asked me to stab a friend (who was responsible for opening that door for me in the first place) in the back to further my own career. Uh… no thanks. I may have paid my dues for years to make it if that hadn’t happened but I decided to quit. For good. I haven’t regretted it yet.

This blog was never an attempt at getting back into that world, especially since I already have a career… for one thing, I don’t actually know anything about sports except that I’m passionate about them – my area was something else entirely. For another, um… have you read this blog? I call it my hockey-related ridiculosity blog. If I make one Habs fan or hockey fan smile with a post then I consider it a successful one.

So yeah, I may have been really upset that a couple of dudes who have seen a little success aren’t at all gracious about it… but now I realize they don’t have you guys. Maybe if they did, they wouldn’t be like that.

Thank you.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:19 am

    Nice to get that off your chest.

    Hello from Paris. 🙂

  2. June 14, 2010 10:41 am

    Bullet points. You forgot bullet points.

  3. Chris permalink
    June 14, 2010 1:23 pm

    What a well-rounded and insightful article. I agree that the scent of success can make one turn self-indulgent and ignorant. I’ve never noticed a tone of superiority in your article. It’s refreshing to read a blogger who doesn’t perpetuate that kind of self-deluded aggrandizing you see on certain blogs.

    But hey, if you ever need to cheer yourself up… check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doMV7KfJ7Cs

  4. June 14, 2010 7:20 pm

    Way to be awesome! Keep it up. There’s a reason you’re on my RSS feed.

    Also, Go Habs Go!

  5. June 15, 2010 2:13 am

    I enjoy reading your blog. Because it’s you and you come thru as authentic. Simple as that.

    Keep it up.

  6. Harry M permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:01 pm

    Blow those World Cup horns in their face Active Stick!

    Great article…

  7. June 23, 2010 9:30 am

    I know a few felf-important bloggers as well.

    I can’t understand it, since bloggers are by definition losers.

    Which is why our email account on our blog is “meatheads”.

Leave a Reply

