Skip to content

Flyers – Habs Game 5: Curtain Call

May 24, 2010

There’s a reason I usually refuse to watch elimination games out in public: every year, without fail, when the Montreal Canadiens season ends, I cry for about ten minutes. I know, there’s always next year. Why do I cry? I’m not sure. Maybe it’s because I’m such a girl. Or maybe I cry for the same reason I get butterflies and my heart starts beating really fast when the puck’s just about to drop on a new Canadiens season. The same reason I get goosebumps when I’m watching the intro on the jumbotron at the Bell Centre before a game, or when they cut to Jean Beliveau watching the game from the third row behind the Habs bench. I love this game, and I love my team.

Our Habs gave us a great playoff run. When they got into the playoffs with a loser point, a lot of people didn’t think they’d make it past four games, and yet they played fifteen more than that, ousting the best regular season team and the defending Stanley Cup champs. The Habs were still playing hockey at the end of May, and contrary to what even I had believed, made noise in the playoffs. The fans made a lot more noise than the team did, but that’s just Montreal.

A lot of things went wrong this season, but that’s another post. A few things went right, but that’s another one. I’m not enamoured with the coaching, even though it was okay during the playoffs, but that’s a rant and a half for another day. Let’s not wallow in our disappointment and discuss the past to death – summer’s here and we suddenly have a lot of time on our hands to sit outside and drink Sangria.

My favourite game this season: The Centennial Game on December 4th. Here’s the writeup of my unexpected chance to be there in person.

My least favourite game of the season: When the Toronto Maple Leafs shut the Habs out at the Bell Centre. Thankfully, I wasn’t at that one in person.

Rant of the year: Sal from downtown.

A crazy rant of my own that got a lot of love: Carey and Jaro’s letter to their teammates (the answer to your question is Jay Leach).

I still got a lot of rant in me, including some doozies, and there’s still a Final to be played (featuring my Number 2 team led by my man, Jonathan Toews) and a Cup to be won, but now that the Habs season is over, I just want to say thanks for watching it with me, monkeys. I heart you all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    May 24, 2010 9:47 pm

    The bright sides of this, if you are willing to see them right now, is that you can now cheer for Chicago without restraint and when you wake up tomorrow morning, you will be far prettier than Arron Asham and Chris Pronger. Combined.

  2. May 24, 2010 10:16 pm

    It’s not because you’re a girl. And I agree there is lots to be said but now is not the time. Great run. Great times. This team will only get better.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Flyers – Habs Game 5: Curtain Call « The Active Stick -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

