Skip to content

Pens – Habs Game 4: Quitting is for theactivestick, not PK Subban

May 7, 2010

Sorry we’re late today, we didn’t get home until 2am and we had to go straight to bed because we had work this morning and also the dog ate it.

This post is a little all over the place because I’m rushing it though my lunch:

  • You all have permission to mock me until the end of this series, because I quit my attempts to go to Pittsburgh tomorrow for Game 5. It would have been a little expensive for someone with my limited-ish means anyway, and a hockey game in someone else’s barn is not something I particularly want to do by my 5-foot-1-inch self and also I have three sets of friends who flaked out for different reasons. In any case. I am a quitter. Go ahead and make fun.
  • Unlike me, PK Subban is no quitter. After two periods of what can charitably be described as absolute caca, he turned in an amazing effort in the third. Gotta love that.
  • Also gotta love Gomez telling him not to get too full of himself cause he was crap for two periods.
  • Also gotta love MaxLap’s goal.
  • And Gionta’s accidental gamewinner.
  • And Jaro still hasn’t been solved by the Penguins.
  • And Fleury is back to being a flippy floppy mess.
  • That said, Markov’s absence is clearly, clearly, clearly making itself known.
  • Did not love the officiating, of course, but what fan is objective about that? I would like to pose a challenge to my four and a half readers. Please name a single game in these playoffs where the reffing wasn’t ridiculously shit to both the teams on the ice.
  • If you can I’ll make you a sandwich.
  • And not the shitty organic multigrain tofu kind I’ve been eating a lot of lately… real deli meat kind of stuff.
  • I really don’t know what to make of this team. Every time I think they’re getting their golf clubs ready, they pull out a surprising win. Every time I think they’re going to win a game for sure, they blow a 3-goal lead on the Caps or fail to score on Fleury in the first period.
  • What I hate about the Penguins is that for the past year they’ve been talking and acting as though they’re going to waltz to another Cup. That’s what I meant by ‘entitled little fuckers’ in my last post. Just listen to the interviews.
  • Which is why it makes me ridiculously giddy to see them get angry and frustrated when the Habs beat them. Yes, the Penguins are a far superior team but that doesn’t automatically mean they deserve a bye into the finals. Guess what Penguins? Four games and it weren’t a sweep… and the Habs have exactly the same chance as you do of winning the series.
  • Go suck on that.
  • When the Habs made it to overtime against the Leafs in Game 82 of the regular season, I would not have believed in a million years that that same team would be tied with the defending champs in their SECOND round series after having knocked off the top regular season team in the league and after losing their best player. No way.
  • I can’t even remember that Leafs game anymore and it was just a month ago.
  • In fact, I can’t remember the regular season at all.
  • My quotable friend Jon was at the game last night, sitting right behind Halak for two periods and taunting Fleury for one. He said the Penguins players kept saying to each other on the ice “I can’t hear you, it’s too loud in here” and things like that. Damn straight. I remember two years ago Tummy Thomas (oh yes) was talking about how he was trying to yell something at one of his D-men and just couldn’t be heard over the Habs fans… and that resulted in Sergei’s goal against him so early in the first.
  • Which makes it all the more sad that the Vancouver Canucks retired a No. 7 jersey in honour of the fans… Not only is it not a thing, it’s also honouring people that clearly aren’t nearly the best at what they do.
  • I love Montreal and how we went nuts after the Habs tied the series last night (without rioting). People like to mock us because we get so much joy out of not winning the Stanley Cup. In all honesty, I don’t know for sure, but I think most other cities’ Stanley Cup celebrations would be dwarfed by our ‘winning a playoff game’ celebration from last night. I don’t think that’s stupid or embarrassing for us. I think it’s embarrassing for other cities. I think it’s perfectly reasonable to come out of the Bell Centre and chant ‘Go Habs Go’ and high-five strangers that are coming out of bars doing the same thing after a game like last night’s. It’s not like we burned cop cars… Or booed anthems. Or celebrated “Canadiens Day” after one round like those idiots in Vancouver. We were loud about our happiness… and we were done in about 15 minutes. Perfectly reasonable.
  • And if you don’t like it, your team is probably not in the playoffs.
  • Or doesn’t deserve to be, judging from the lack of reasonable amounts of appreciation the fans show for improbable, but minor, successes in the playoffs.
  • Again. We didn’t create a “Day” for a first round win against an opponent we should have swept or anything. We were totally reasonable. Stop crapping on us and go make fun of the Canucks fans, wouldjaplease?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    May 7, 2010 3:42 pm

    I like to think I can be objective about officiating, even in games involving the Rangers, having reffed little bastard children in high school. I can remember one game this playoffs when I could not find anything wrong. The refs were invisible; they were patient; they were fine. Now I only wish I could remember who it was because, damn, I could use a good sandwich. I want to say Watson and McCreary.

    I will tell you this, though. The league most certainly has an officiating problem. They’re spread too thin, getting mixed up in plays left and right, and just generally demonstrating borderline incompetence. And based on the way fans treat officials (cause, you know, it’s never your team that breaks the rules or fucking sucks), it’s not a surprise no one wants to be good at this job. Remember when there were quality referees, ones who ended up in the hall of fame? Yeah… I do.

    Also, you’re a little crazy right now. But that’s okay because so am I.

  2. May 7, 2010 4:14 pm

    I thought that was Jon on TV last night. There was one shot of a guy wearing glasses, a ’11 Habs hat (CH on a Maple Leaf) and a scarf yelling angrily. Glad to see he had a good time.

    And you can’t remember the last game of the season? I’m sure there are photos of it/that night somewhere to jog your memory. Like the one after we gave you all our money for the tickets.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Pens – Habs Game 4: Quitting is for theactivestick, not PK Subban « The Active Stick -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

