Skip to content

Caps-Habs Game 4: Woe is we

April 22, 2010

Oy. As I said on Twitter last night, you know things is bad when a Leafs fan is consoling you on bbm.

I love my Habs, but is there a single team in the NHL this adept at collapsing after getting the lead? Wait, never mind, I know the answer and I make enough fun of them as it is (hint: they’re really good at golf).

Here’s the thing. It always was a long shot anyway. The Caps are bigger, faster, tougher, snipier. They also have a better coach. Even when the Habs played a near-perfect game they needed OT to win.

I know they’re not out yet. The fourth win is always the hardest to get and I hope the Habs have enough pride to make it hard for Washington to close the series, so I’ll save the post-season epic for later. (Sidebar: The Habs have been eliminated at home twice in the past two years… Please don’t make it a three-peat, boys.)

General playoffness:

  • Too Many Men: This is becoming ridiculous. I tweeted last night that Too Many Men was the frontrunner for the Conn Smythe Trophy this year. Buffalo and Vancouver have fallen victim to their own line change fails while Montreal has fallen victim to one of Washington’s.
  • Lending goats (ten bucks and a million nerdpoints if you can tell me where that reference is from): I’m so sick of the goaltending controversy in Montreal that it’s refreshing to watch Anderson, Real Deal Rinne, Cryin’ Ryan and Rask uncontroversially school the rest of the league on how to play backstop. Conversely, it’s interesting to watch Brodeur, Nabby, Niemi, Quick and Luongo struggle. I’m not particularly enjoying it (except that I am in the case of Luongo), but I’m definitely watching it. Boucher is warming my heart a little. Not sure what to make of Howard and Bryzgalov yet, but that’s mostly because I’m too busy looking for snakes on the ice.
  • Drew Doughty and Shea Weber: If girls could have man-crushes, those two would definitely be mine. I’m big on defensemen (Markov and Lidstrom are two of my favourite players in the league), and guys that can dish out big hits and score big goals are what I’m all about. Much as I love Luke Schenn (don’t tell any Leafs fans), those two are next level awesome and I don’t know if he’ll get there, but hey, there’s a good chance.
  • Canucks fans: are rapidly becoming everything people hate about Habs fans. Minus the ’24 Cups’ argument. Also, minus the ‘any Cups at all’ argument. I warned everybody they were douchebags a long time ago and nobody listened and now we’re all acting surprised at their behaviour.
  • Pierre McGuire: I don’t understand the vitriolic reaction to this guy. He’s intentionally ridiculous. It’s how he makes his money. It’s like this is news to people. You don’t listen to McGuire for hockey analysis, you listen to him so you can quote him all over twitter and message boards and giggle. And so you can name your blog after a phrase he didn’t invent but has pretty much claimed for himself.
  • The New Jersey Sharks: Are they choking every year or is Brodeur just getting too tired? Also, after Game 3 I was hanging out with my quotable friend Jon and his adorable friends and the Kovalchuk to Toronto discussion came up. The more I think about it, the worse an idea it is for Toronto, which is why I’m now convinced Burkie’s going to go for it.
  • Chris Neil: I don’t know what it is about that guy, but I hate him more than I hate Dan Carcillo, Jarko Ruutu, Sean Avery, Steve Ott, Matt Cooke, RJ Umberger, and Yappy combined. God, he bugs me.
  • Carey Price: is learning his behaviour from the Bell Centre Terrorists (as Number31 calls them). I love him to death but that was so not cool Carey oh my God.
  • The Pittsburgh Penguins: are far less annoying when they’re taking it to the Ottawa Senators, aren’t they?
4 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    April 22, 2010 10:26 am

    Chris Neil looks like Dennis the Menace.

    To me anyway.

    Could it be his appearance that bothers you?

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 22, 2010 12:12 pm

      I’m sure that’s part of it.

  2. April 22, 2010 11:48 am

    “You don’t listen to McGuire for hockey analysis, you listen to him so you can quote him all over twitter and message boards and giggle. And so you can name your blog after a phrase he didn’t invent but has pretty much claimed for himself.”

    Amazing. I enjoyed reading this, especially the rant-like general comments. Keep it up!!

  3. April 22, 2010 10:40 pm

    I love it when a goalie has bite and Price had bite last night. At least he has a pulse unlike that stiff for a coach he’s got there. Maybe he’ll get a fighting major next game.

Leave a Reply

