Skip to content

Caps-Habs Game 3: Tell me why I don’t like Mondays

April 20, 2010

I went to Game 3 (against the Bruins) last year, too. But last year, we saw it coming. At least I did.

The sweep had been written by the time the Habs backed into the playoffs by taking the very team that would sweep them to overtime in Game 81. But I had never been to a playoff game in Montreal (although I had been to playoff games elsewhere) and I wanted to know. From the moment I stepped into the Bell Centre to about halfway through the game, and even after Micheal Fucking Ryder scored however many goals and the Habs lost, it was an incredible, incredible experience. I’ll never forget it and I’ll never regret going.

That was when we expected a massacre.

Last night, we didn’t.

Our Montreal Canadiens had teased us with an excellent Game 1 (the jury’s still out on whether they were lying).

Which is why the Bell Centre was even louder, even crazier, and even more electric than last year through the intro and the first period. We really thought they could win, and no, that wasn’t a reach. They dominated in the first.

And then the Caps crashed Halak’s crease and the Habs began, not just to unravel or fall apart, but to spectacularly tear themselves apart. It was still a nice change from Game 3 last year, though, because at least this time they tore themselves apart as a team.

I know it’s not just me, and I know the officiating was really, really bad. We were joking around that Gomez had to be given that misconduct because there’s only so many times you can kick him out of the faceoff circle before someone notices he has yet to be allowed to take one.

But Scotty and Tomas Jagr did not help themselves or their team by getting mouthy with the officials. Yes, there were some total bullshit calls but the Habs did deserve quite a few of the penalties. And then they gave the Caps a little bit of room so the Caps skated and passed circles around them. That’s just how it is when a team is so much better than you – you have no hope of winning if you can’t shut them down.

So, was it worth it?

As I have learned in my personal life lately… it’s not worth it to be deliriously happy for one third of the time if you’re going to be miserable for the rest.

Attempts at the silver lining:

  • Habs got a LOT of PK practice against (supposedly) the best PP in the league.
  • Scott Gomez picked a puck up off the faceoff dot and tossed it to a fan, which was cute and all kinds of ironic.
  • I have never seen Brian Gionta have a bad game.
  • 99 per cent of the Bell Centre did not boo Carey.
  • Even when they suck, they do it like a team and they’re likeable about it.
  • That little defeat scrum (hee) with Carey and the guys was such a great team spirit moment.

Things I am disgusted with:

  • Booing the US national anthem. I refuse to live in a world where booing another country’s anthem won’t get you kicked out of an NHL arena while throwing a rubber snake in an attempt to start a tradition will.
  • That said, I’m sick of hearing all of you talk it to death every year. Habs fans are NOT the only fans that have booed anthems (but for some reason they’re the only ones you’ve decided you hear), no, that is not the reason the Habs always lose, and for the love of God if five people do it doesn’t mean the whole city does it. If it bothers you so much, do what I did: write to the arena and the NHL. And if you’re there, tell the boo birds to shut the fuck up and then sing the US anthem as loud as you can.
  • The 1 per cent of the Bell Centre that did boo Price. I was so mad I almost threw my phone at them. If you know me personally, you know that I pretty much live my entire life on my Crackberry. That’s how pissed I was.
  • Halak disappeared and also wasn’t part of the “Pat Pricey on the back” scrum at the end of the game… It’s your fucking team Jaro, suck it up and sit your ass on the bench after costing them their confidence and the game, and then thank Carey for absorbing your loss.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 9:10 am

    I DON’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT.

  2. therangersfan permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:51 am

    You can take pride this morning in the fact that at least you’re not Canucks fans.

    Rare is it that a team and a fanbase can so thoroughly embarrass themselves at almost the same time.

  3. Harry M permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:05 am

    Blowing 4-1 leads in the playoffs is the ultimate kiss of death. The simple fact of the matter is the Caps are supremely better than the Habs….officials be damned.

    I think the Canadian national anthem is one of the most beautiful songs on earth. Please don’t change a word of it you PC freaks. The folks who boooo are just miserable and have to go back to their miserable lives once the game ends.

  4. April 20, 2010 11:46 am

    I’m not a fan of booing anthems. We’ve gotten most of our section in the United Center to start singing “O Canada” really loudly (it’s really a great song), before cheering loudly for “The Star Spangled Banner”, which out friends at Fox News have tried making an issue of.

    And the next best thing to going to a game and seeing your team win is going to a game and seeing your team lose. Either way, you’re at the hockey game.

  5. April 20, 2010 7:48 pm

    Penalty bitching aside…

    Much as I like Halak over Price, I noticed in game 2 and into game 3 that the Caps seemed to have cracked him by going top shelf. Halak may be on fire, but he also may have given his opponents too much videotape to work with. Unless “Halak” changes to “Hasek” or becomes Fat Marty, the Price switcheroo was one of the better moves JM made. (Virtually everything else of course…….)

  6. April 21, 2010 9:33 am

    Ref didn’t like Gomz’s jokes? What is this, high school? IT’S THE FUCKING PLAYOFFS REF! YOU CAN GET BITCHED OUT BY A GUY WEARING AN ‘A’ LEGALLY! Jokes.

    And if someone near me boos Price tonight they’ll be launched to center ice.

Leave a Reply

