Skip to content

Caps-Habs Game 2: Why the NHL playoffs are beyond awesome

April 18, 2010

When you’re done slitting your wrists, Habs fans…

This series is awesome and ridiculous at the same time.

My brain was kind of broken while I was watching the game, but here’s some stuff:

  • Two hat tricks in one game.
  • Scott Gomez and Tom Poti err… “fighting.” Apparently Gomez asked Poti if he wanted to fight.
  • I have never loved Captain Brian as much as I did on that one shift. You know the one I’m taking about. Somebody hook me up with a vid if you can find one… I couldn’t.
  • Okay, I didn’t actually look.
  • Some more brilliant play by Jaroslav Spacek.
  • The Human Cannon Ball version of Ovechkin is back. If he weren’t currently in the process of chopping all the Habs into pieces, I would be all kinds of into this.
  • Theoskala is back.
  • The Caps have weaknesses… plenty of them…
  • While the Habs are doing a pretty good job of camouflaging theirs.
  • Cammalleri…
  • I think I may have seen some hits by a couple of Canadiens. Please confirm.
  • Don’t lie to me… how many of you thought the same Habs that backed into the playoffs by losing in overtime to the almost-worst team in the league would be coming back to Montreal for Game 3 with the series tied?
  • Against a team that finished the regular season with 33 more points and 101 more goals?
  • Yeah, there were a lot (a lot) of things not to like about that game but you didn’t expect the Habs to win two games in Washington against the best team in the league, did you?
  • And no. They’re not playing Price. I love Price but he will not respond well to being steamrolled in his crease… or non-called goaltender interference.
  • Yes, giving up a 3 goal lead is worrisome but the Caps had to give up four goals first, and you can make the case that two of their subsequent goals shouldn’t have been.
  • All Game 1 upsets (minus Nashville over Chicago… as yet) un-upset in Game 2 so the clock is now set back to zero and we get more games.
  • More games = Win.
  • And also Evgeni Nabokov played worse than Vesa Toskala and came away with a win.
  • Which has nothing to do with the Habs but it’s hilarious and entertaining.
  • Even though I’m rooting for the Avs.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:01 am

    TAS, if you want proof of why too many men on the ice has no place in playoff hockey, just ask fans of the Vancouver Canucks this morning. When/if they wake up.

    There was nothing marginal about the call either. Half the population of the Lower Mainland jumped that bench.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 18, 2010 9:12 pm

      I don’t like to ask fans of the Vancouver Canucks anything because it gives them the impression that I want to hear the answer.

  2. April 18, 2010 11:28 am

    “Even though I’m rooting for the Avs.”

    Greater words were never written.

  3. April 18, 2010 11:57 am

    Wait wait! What about HMCS Hal Gill? He was so intense that he was STANDING in the penalty box on that lame call he got. Also gave the ref a piece of his mind.

    And while Cannoballvechkin was busy cannonballing, Gio scored. Ho ho ho~!

    Though I disagree with your assessment on Price and crease-crashing. If anything he’ll give Knuble a big bruise on his back or knock his helmet over his eyes ;D Besides, I can see Jaro is getting tired…and we know how that goes…

    • smilinggainey permalink
      April 18, 2010 12:17 pm

      Gill was probably blocking the view of a good 30 Caps fans if he was standing in the box. What a jerk.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 18, 2010 9:16 pm

      I’m basing my Price comment on the Philly series from two years ago.

  4. April 18, 2010 11:58 am

    HAHAHA the bullet-point format is hilarious.

    Please to continue doing this.

  5. April 18, 2010 12:30 pm

    Oh yes. Don’t stop. Ever.

    And I too disagree on your Carey assessment, but I think JM will bring Jaro back nevertheless from what he said post game.

    We are a priveleged bunch of hockey fans, great games all around…

Leave a Reply

