Skip to content

Now what?

April 9, 2010

I have never been more sure of anything than I am of this: Tonight, at Madison Square Garden The World’s Most Famous Arena!, the New York Rangers are going to beat the Philadelphia Flyers in overtime.

Which would push the Habs even further between a rock and a hard place (stop giggling).

The only way out of it would be to win tomorrow night’s game against our beloved Toronto Maple Leafs, or take it to overtime, because on Sunday, New York is going to beat Philadelphia in Philadelphia.

Raise your hand if you’ve seen this movie before. You’ve probably been replaying it in your head since Eric Staal scored the first of his seven million goals against the Habs last night.

I’m not going to lie to you, my five readers. I’m not optimistic.

At the end of last summer I sold of one my kidneys, half of my soul and three of my future children for a chance to go to a Habs home game. I ended up with tickets to tomorrow night’s game, but I didn’t think it was going to be this big a deal, or potentially this big of a letdown.

In a related story, my evil nemesis PPP* and I decided on the terms of our much(over?)-hyped twitter bet a while ago, but I didn’t want to post them until the Habs clinched a playoff spot because that would have been bad karma. However, the Habs are pretty much steering themselves out of the playoffs and into a steaming pile of goat poop and nothing I do could possibly make things worse so here:

PPP was sure the Habs would be swept out of the playoffs. I thought they could manage at least one playoff win**.

The winner of the bet, if it happens, will venture into the business of haute couture. If I win, I get to design a t-shirt for him to proudly wear the next time the Habs play the Leafs. It will say “Kerry didn’t steal it – The Leafs wouldn’t have beat the Habs anyway.” If he wins, he gets to design a t-shirt for me to wear bearing the atrocious lie, “The Toronto Maple Leafs: The Real 1993 Stanley Cup Champions.” Or some variation of that.

Now that the bet may not happen, I’m kind of sad. I really, really, really enjoy winning these things. A lot. Like, a lot a lot.  I especially enjoy winning bets against boys, against Leafs fans (or Bruins fans or Yankees fans, etc), and against champion (read:obnoxious) smack-talkers. PPP is all three.

Please, Habs?

There’s been a lot of anger towards the team all over the internet from last night all the way through this morning. Canadiens fans are pretty bipolar as a group, but nobody rages against their team like we do. Two things worth reading: A really emotional piece from popular Habs blogger J.T.,and  a ‘cold reality’ About Last Night from Mike Boone. I’m obviously more about the jokes than I am about the rage, but those links are worth checking out anyway.

*As usual, I am not stalking anyone from PPP or any other Leafs bloggers, and I am especially not stalking Down Goes Brown.
**This offer is not valid against Pittsburgh or New Jersey.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Kerr permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:39 am

    I have been here before, two seasons ago. The Sens really struggled down the stretch and just barely made the playoffs, where they were promptly swept by the Pens.

    There’s no worse feeling of knowing that even if your team gets in, it’s not going to do anything. You can’t even feel good about your team making the playoffs.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 9, 2010 5:36 pm

      I know. At least you guys could console yourselves with the ‘Alfie and Spezza are injured’ lame excuse. All we’s got is a lousy coach to blame.

  2. Doug permalink
    April 9, 2010 10:20 am

    Don’t shoot yourself – you really do have more than 5 readers – Never forget the silent majority, ’cause most of the Leaf fans in the world are in there too. What in god’s name have we had to cheer about since 99 hit Gilmore. Sat PM should be special, not because it’s important to the Habs, just because it’s TO and Montreal. PS: Wanna sell your duckets??

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 9, 2010 5:29 pm

      Hahaha. I’m still going, because if the Habs do win, it will be epic.

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. April 9, 2010 10:26 am

    God, I hope the Rangers win both games so we can experience the satisfying tears of disbelief and angst coming out of Montreal when the Leafs destroy the shit out of your midgets.

    I still ❤ you.

    Just not for the next few days.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 9, 2010 5:32 pm

      What a sadist. Wanna make out?

      (Kindly note that I only joke around about making out with Leafs fans. I would never touch one in real life but the cruel taunts just get me going.)

  4. April 9, 2010 4:28 pm

    This is what I have to say about all of this:

    aldsfkjadslkfjadsfkjadslfkjadsfkjadsfkjadsfdkfjaldsfk

    Thank you.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 9, 2010 5:34 pm

      Bring your special occasions liver tomorrow. We might need to get really, really, really drunk.

Trackbacks

  1. Caps-Habs Game 1: TOW the bet got out of the way « The Active Stick

Leave a Reply

