Skip to content

#habstweetup – zOMG the @pplz from the interwebs are realz

March 21, 2010

I’m normally a ridiculously shy person. It’s not that I don’t like people, it’s that I’m afraid of them. So you’d think the idea of meeting a whole bunch of people I only know of from Twitter to watch Habs game would scare the crap out of me. And it did. But hey, 50 of them were doing it, why couldn’t I? Besides, I’ve met people from the interwebs before and I didn’t die that time, so I figured, why not?

Crazy as it sounds, I’ve made some good friends just from talking about the Habs on the internet.  For example, I met my friend Jon when I wanted to buy Habs tickets from him through a message board last year. You might remember I was lucky enough to go the Centennial game. Thanks to that friend Jon. Once of my favourite people in the world? My friend Brock in New Brunswick who I met through that same message board and had a few beers with during the Habs collapse last season.

In any case, a tweetup is when a bunch of people on Twitter decide to get together in real life, usually based around a common theme or event… such as a Habs game. The prolific All Habs was behind last night’s tweetup, and it was a huge success. In fact, it made the Montreal Gazette. You might think meeting people from Twitter is lame, but then again you probably never made the local paper.

I kind of almost turned around when I hit the highway to go downtown… I’m terrible at parties and gatherings. Wallflower is an understatement. But the lovely metricjulie quickly introduced me to a few people right away, and eventually I became… almost social. I even won a Price figurine by answering a trivia quiz by All Habs.  (The figurine was donated by kuyaz.)

The only downside? The Habs lost to Leafs. Gawd I hate it when that happens. But I don’t think we cared much, cause we were socializing most of the time.

Number of people who were surprised to learn theactivestick is a girl: at least 6

Person I wish I had spent more time chatting with: guyl4rj

Person I was most glad to meet: all of them!

Person I totally missed though I really wish I hadn’t: Number31

Really good drinking buddies: Kuyaz and amandafortier

Big sweetheart: Cathie_AK27

Before you order at Ye Olde Orchard: You should know that an order of the sweet potatoes isn’t like a cup. It’s like six cups. 90% of the bowl was left uneaten.

Money raised for Hockey Fights Cancer by metricjulie and sarahconnors: More than $300

Great job: All_Habs

Out-of-towners I really wish were there: smalrus, Kibbles, Martina, Shmitzy

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 2:14 pm

    Hang out with nothing but Habs fans IN Montreal? Um, yup. I think I could go for that… I hope everyone had as great a time as you did and one day I’ll make my way out for one!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      March 21, 2010 4:10 pm

      You ever been to Montreal before, Scott?

  2. March 21, 2010 2:42 pm

    You are a doll! 😉 One day for sure!

  3. March 21, 2010 3:10 pm

    Woooo! Awesome post! I’m going to quote part of it for sure when I do my write up later.

    It was great meeting you!!!

  4. March 21, 2010 4:43 pm

    Smalrus gets a lower case s? The hell did he ever do to you?!

    Anyway I don’t know if it’s a good idea but we’ll see.

  5. March 21, 2010 8:17 pm

    What MLSE said. Enjoy your 4 games 🙂

    (just some good-natured ribbing)

    • theactivestick permalink*
      March 21, 2010 8:31 pm

      Who at WordPress do I talk to about a better spam filter?

    • March 21, 2010 8:32 pm

      Just like we enjoyed Gilmour before tossing him back.

  6. March 21, 2010 9:31 pm

    LOL hey I was by the corner near that guy with the painted head (wearing the Price shirt obviously) before EP31 called me over XD Congrats on the Price toy! But seriously, I’m totally invisible at parties even with my best of friends…

    • theactivestick permalink*
      March 21, 2010 10:19 pm

      I met your partially-eaten salad. It was quite witty actually.

      • March 22, 2010 7:46 am

        Ah yes. I found it rather nasty and rotten. Guess the conversation got better later…

  7. March 22, 2010 11:49 am

    One day before I’m dead, I’ll actually get to go to one of these things… Sadly, I may outlive Twitter though.

    Also, you’re sure now, that you’re not actually a dude? 😛

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments
  2. #habstweetup – zOMG the @pplz from the interwebs are realz | Hockey Pub
  3. #habstweetup – zOMG the @pplz from the interwebs are realz | Habs Tweetup

Leave a Reply

