Skip to content

I’m not proud of what I did last night…

March 14, 2010

If the Bruins at Habs was supposed to be the Battle of Mediocrity, as Harry M put it, and the Oilers at Leafs was supposed to be the Battle of the Basement, as so many people who think they’re original put it, then the Senators at Canucks was the Battle of Irrelevance, as theactivestick puts it.

If you’ve known me for 30 seconds or longer, you know that I have absolutely no love for the Ottawa Senators and even less for the Vancouver Canucks. I’m not all that into the Edmonton Oilers, either, but they don’t really bother me plus Wayne Gretzky, etc. The MarLeafs naturally make me and every other Habs fan puke all over the place, but that goes without saying. Calgary, I’m all about.

Anyway, before I went off on that Make It Seven tangent, I was saying how much I hate the Sens and Nucks.I’m pretty serious about it, too.

Which is why I’m not proud of what I did last night.

We got home and turned the TV on in time to see Rick Rypien going at it with that fucker, Chris Neil. The score was 3-1 at that point, I think.

I found myself enthusiastically cheering for the Vancouver Canucks for the remainder of the game. And when they won, I was overjoyed.

I don’t understand.

I mean I know the Habs are trying to catch Ottawa in the standings and stuff, but this goes beyond that. I was practically chanting Luuuuuuuuuuuu in the living room, FFS.

I’m going to see a doctor about this on Monday.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 11:23 am

    Don’t worry about it.

    Last week, when the Bruins won in SO against the Leafs, Sports Station on Ste-Catherine and Du Fort erupted in applause and cheers.

    FOR THE BRUINS.

  2. Artie permalink
    March 14, 2010 11:25 am

    It’s understandable.
    It was late,
    the time change,
    you’d probably had a few drinks and you might have thought you were watching Canadiens express and were just cheering against Ottawa.

  3. March 14, 2010 11:26 am

    You got a serious case of Anti-Sensilis and raging Vancouver Canuckitis. I think there’s a cream for that.

    • March 14, 2010 11:34 am

      I’m anti miettinen.

      Looks like the heart wants what the heart wants, theactivestick. Your true colours are nasty yellow and orange. Didn’t you post something about an undeniable urge to go West like a Pet Shop Boy?

      For shame.

  4. March 14, 2010 11:57 am

    I believe it’s called Olympic Hangover. You’ve watched so much hockey from GM Place and cheered for Luongo the entire time, that you’ve forgotten home much you hate the Canucks and their general whiny and sucky nature.

    You’ve also learned what people in Toronto have known for a decade now: The Senators are the Eastern equivalent of the Canucks. And you know where my loyalties lie on the Leafs. I come to bury the Senators, not to praise the Make-me Laughs.

    Fortunately, I have a solution: Drink two six-packs of Export, watch the Bertuzzi hit on loop (or the Burrows diving incidents if you don’t want to become homicidal) and call me in the morning.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      March 14, 2010 3:01 pm

      Thanks, Dr. Captain Blye (and the Rabbi?).

  5. March 14, 2010 2:20 pm

    For a moment there, I thought you were going to write about a walk of shame.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      March 14, 2010 2:59 pm

      I suspect that’s why I’m getting a lot of hits today.

      The last time a post got this much love this fast, it was entitled “Naked Pictures of Zdeno Chara.”

      I’m not exactly a Walk of Shame kind of girl, but thanks for reading, everybody!

Leave a Reply

