Skip to content

Dear Team Canada

February 25, 2010

I have a confession to make, Men’s Hockey Team.

I doubted you.

I was wrong.

I’m sorry.

Sincerely,

theactivestick

I thought Team Russia was the Gold medal favourite and last night they left the Olympics with their worst showing since I don’t know when. I guess Canada’s will to win was bigger than Alex Ovechkin and those other scrubs šŸ˜‰

I swear I saw Ovie grab Sid’s crotch when they were doing the handshake thing, and the lovely Martina pointed out that Sid wiped his nose before shaking all those Russian hands.

Congratulations to Jaro Halak, who backstopped Slovakia to the medal round. If I remember correctly, and I’m too lazy to check this, Slovakia has never finished the Olympics with a top-4 ranking.

Holy crap Drew Doughty… How insane is this kid when people were questioning Stevie Y on picking a 20-year-old over Bouneuf and he was arguably one of the three best defensemen last night? You could hear tears of joy in McGuire’s voice.

Honorable holy crap: Shea Weber, Dan Boyle (although don’t think we didn’t see that slewfoot, Danny, and you should be ashamed. Slewfooting is something the Russians do, and you know better than to exhibit such unCanadian behaviour).

Key’s to tomorrow night’s Canada-Slovakia game: Don’t have more than 40 shots on Halak, and above all don’t go above 45 cause Jaro has a gazillion-0 record when facing 45 shots or more. I would love for Jaro to get a medal… a Bronze one.

I’m torn on whether I want the USA to beat Finland for an EPIC USA-Canada final, or if I want Finland to get a Silver medal because I like them more (Teemu! Saku! Mikko! Mikka! … on the other hand, Jarko).

First things first. Canada needs to beat Slovakia before that can happen, and my lunch hour is almost over.

P.S. Here’s a great blogpost from Shmitzy about the effect of the adorable Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue on our national mood following the men’s hockey team’s loss to the US. I really should have linked to it before the game yesterday but it’s still a relevant read for anyone who’s been getting caught up in the emotion of these Olympic games. I love Canada.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 3:02 pm

    I’m kind of hoping for a Canada/Finland game myself… just to see if Iggy can score a few on his own netminder. LOL Canada vs US is SOOOOOO last week. šŸ˜‰

  2. February 26, 2010 5:03 am

    Jarkko is only bad because normally he plays for the enemy. When he’s on your side – it’s all good.

  3. February 26, 2010 8:27 am

    Same apology from me, Team Canada.

    Oopsie.

Leave a Reply

