Skip to content

Welcome to Canada, please don’t litter or walk away with our Gold…

February 15, 2010

Alexandre Bilodeau, a Nice Quebec Boy from Montreal (okay, Rosmere now), won Canada’s first gold medal on Canadian soil and also Canada’s first gold of these Olympics. But then again, you already know this because Brian Williams and the rest of Canada’s Olympic Media Consortium basically followed you into the washroom to tell you.

If you watched Alexandre make his win about the other Canadian athletes and talk about his brother (who has Cerebral Palsy) being his Number One fan, and you didn’t cry, you have no heart.

Anyway. I’ve pretty much been glued to some TV or other since Friday night. The Winter Olympics is (are?) one of my absolute favourite sporting events. There isn’t a single Winter Games event I won’t watch (for some reason I find the Summer Olympics quite dull). I watch luge, I watch  ice dancing, I watch ski jumping, I watch the zamboni between speed-skating events.

Other than the Erectile Dysfunction Incident, I thought the Opening Ceremonies were great… if a little long.

Some of the effects were absolutely breathtaking. I liked how they had the First Nations welcome the athletes, and how they featured a lot of things people outside Canada would have no idea we were all about. Like throwing hockey greats into the back of a pickup truck and having them set the town on fire. And fiddlers.

I still can’t get the pants worn by the Azeri and Czech athletes out of my head. I sure I’m not the only one whose heart did a little jump when Jagr walked in, waving the flag and chewing gum as if he were wandering into a rodeo. So good to see you, Jaromir.  Then there was Foppa… and Jack Johnson, who apparently stirred some shit up when he insisted on showing up and taking part in the Parade of Nations. Un Gros Fuck You to Bettman?

Catriona is one of the greatest Canadian athletes in recent history, but she really, really needs a new stylist.

Dale Begg-Smith can go die, that computer-virus-selling traitor. Alex is more deserving, anyway.

Jenn Heil is so cute and classy… a true Canadian.

Also, gotta love the speed skating girls and Kristina Groves’ bronze in an event that’s someone else’s specialty.

Canada’s Olympic Media Consortium has a very sexy studio. MAN I wish I were in Vancouver right now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 4:31 pm

    Great post!! And it’s not too late to join me out here…

  2. February 16, 2010 6:23 pm

    Great post and great to see you on Saturday. Too bad Jenn Heil didn’t win but Alex was incredible. And Jean-Luc Brossard was going absolutely nuts on RDS with the call.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      February 16, 2010 7:29 pm

      I know… how amazing to have your hero calling your Gold Medal win.
      Alex is so adorable it physically hurts.

Leave a Reply

