Skip to content

Postgame 11: Pass the donuts, Welly

October 26, 2009

I know they won, mais vraiment la.

That was a painful win to watch. They got lazy and it almost cost them the game.

Sure, there were flashes of brilliance but mostly it was flashes of Not Doing The Work.

Gui, I know we talked about finishing your checks but you don’t really need to do it when the opposing player is no longer there and in fact back on the bench already.

Who put MAB on the PK? What? This isn’t a confidence-building granola yoga tofu retreat, it’s the National Hockey League.

All those penalties. When you take penalties against a good team, you suck (e.g. Mike Komisarek). When you take penalties against a crappy “rebuilding” team, you’re just lazy (e.g Montreal Canadiens since, like, what, 2001?).

This how they’re gonna play in Pittsburgh? Malkin will eat them for breakfast 32 seconds into the first.

Game 11 Gionta love: Houde: “Gionta doesn’t choose his opponents based on their size” as Gio knocks some Islander over. And by “knocks over” I mean “shoves and shoves and pokes and prods until he gets the last word.”

Roman Hamrlik’s OT Winner: Pleks is brilliant. Yes, I wanted him traded last season, yes, I love him again now, shut up, I’m not a bandwagon fan.

Goalie Guessing Game: Carey really steps it up against Pittsburgh. Halak is playing like your 1A goaltender. Carey will have been off for almost two weeks. Brain says Halak. Gut says Price. Martin says ???

Andrei Markov: WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?

Marian Gaborik Injury Watch: Is he? Isn’t he? Anyone got Vegas odds?

Chris Higgins Career Watch: Currently hovering over the toilet. Snap out of it, Higgy, New York is far enough from me, Europe is too far.

Fat: Kyle Wellwood.

Toronto Maple Leafs: By the looks of it, Anaheim will have the honour of being the first team to lose against the Leafs. I’d stay up and watch this to make sure (cause you never know with these guys) but I have other commitments.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    October 27, 2009 7:04 am

    “I’d stay up and watch this to make sure (cause you never know with these guys) but I have other commitments.”

    I actually laughed out loud.

    I also stayed up to make sure. Like an idiot. I’ll be going to Toronto for the parade.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      October 27, 2009 2:26 pm

      I’m mass-producing “At Least It Wasn’t My Team” t-shirts and they will be shipping to 27 cities, plus Columbus, Ohio, shortly.

      Actually, even Toronto might be a viable market.

Leave a Reply

