Skip to content

Postgame 10: Free calamari for everybody!

October 25, 2009

The good news: They can beat an NHL team. They can rally real good. Mike Cammalleri is teh awesome. I still have a crush on NYR since they didn’t win.

The bad news: That NHL team did not play well. The Habs were not so hot themselves at times, and they still needed to go to OT. So far they’ve beaten two NHL teams (BUF and NYR) and they had to go into OT for both.

The ugly news: Hal Gill played better than my Higgins. MAB’s jockstrap played better than my Higgins. Whoever else sucks on the Habs played better than my Higgins. The Toronto MarLeafs played better than my Higgins.

But I still love my Higgins.

Note to Chris: if you need to talk, you can call me any time. From the pressbox, which is where I suspect you’ll be NYR’s next game against Phoenix (Monday).

Anyway.

Mike Cammalleri for five years, at an average of six-million per? Worth every last penny. I have yet to see this guy take a real hit. I mean, when you’re that small and fast, you learn to escape the bigger players, as my friend helpfully pointed out, but seriously. Hat trick, including the OT winner. He owned this game. Kovalev who?

On the suck front: Giveaways galore and terrible positioning at times, both of which resulted in a couple of big mistakes. Took over the game for eight minutes and played catchup for the rest. Lots of scrambling. I mean, they won, and the game wasn’t exactly boring, but I was relieved that the game got to OT. Funnily enough, therangersfan didn’t think NYR deserved their point.

Game 10 Gionta love: Hi, I’m Brian Gionta, I’m two-and-a-half feet tall, and if you go near my goalie again I’ll fucking kill you.

Goalie Guessing Game: Carey in goal vs Islanders Monday.

Andrei Markov: WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?

Elsewhere in the NHL:

The MarLeafs lose again, but I think you’ll agree that it was pretty cruel, even sadistic of Alain Vigneault to play Luongo instead of Raycroft. Luongo could have used the rest, Raycroft could have used the practice. Komisarek scored another own goal. Worst start in franchise history.

Mike Richards, I love him, I can’t wait to see him play for Canada this winter but that hit on Booth was so dirty he’s going to need to scrub himself for the next month. I’m sure his suspension will give him plenty of time to get a start on that.

Boston and Ottawa annoy me. There’s a game you wish both teams could lose. Since that’s impossible you’d think the least they could do is finish things off in regulation. But no, everybody has to get a point. I blame Ottawa.

Apparently Huet got a shutout. Can someone please verify that information for me, because all the media sources I’ve checked say the same thing and I don’t believe them?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. therangersfan permalink
    October 25, 2009 11:06 am

    The Rangers played like shit. End of story. You will see one or more of the following players benched on Monday against PHX: Drury, Higgins, Dubinsky, Staal.

    I thought Gaborik’s goal was nice, though.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      October 25, 2009 11:12 am

      I will agree that it was a beauty.

      I don’t think Drury deserves a benching but the other three can definitely stand some healthy scratching.

  2. Unfinished Business permalink
    October 25, 2009 11:32 am

    First, I suppose the Maple Laughs aren’t an NHL team. Even still, the Habs needed OT to beat them.
    Second, don’t my 8-1-2 Colorado Avalanche earn any love? Craig Anderson made 48 FUCKING saves!!!!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      October 25, 2009 12:06 pm

      I’m still pissed at them. They are hot though, and I love it. Also I was so astounded by the Huet news that I kind of forgot the Avs beat Detroit.

      The Habs needed OT to beat both the Laughs and the Trash. My point was they will need to learn to beat some real teams in regulation. That’s where secondary scoring needs to come in. Major gaffes also need to haul ass out of the D.

Leave a Reply

