Skip to content

About this Team In Training thing I keep talking about…

January 14, 2013
My training shirt.

My training shirt.

So I may or may not have joined a cult.

I have started training for a half-marathon (to take place in San Diego in June) with Team In Training, to raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for a long time, but I finally signed up this year, and then I went to the first group training session on Saturday and I am embarrassingly unprepared and humiliatingly out of shape.

But I’m going to do this. I’m going to run the half-marathon and raise lots and lots of money for the LLSC on the way.

In fact, thanks to a bunch of you, I’m already well on my way. I’d been aiming to hit $1,000 by the end of January, but as I write this, I’m only $45 away from that and the month isn’t even half over yet.

So why am I doing this?

  1. Because fuck cancer.
  2. Because I wanted to do something really cool and going to San Diego for a half-marathon and doing it for a good cause is really cool.
  3. Because I’ve never done any kind of fundraising before.
  4. Because fuck cancer.
  5. Because challenge.
  6. Because I put it on my list of things I wanted to do before I turn 30.
  7. Because fuck cancer.
  8. Because I want running to become my happy place again and right now it feels like nothing but torture.
  9. Because need to get back into shape and I want it to be about more than my own vanity.
  10. Because fuck cancer.

So, how can you help?

  1. Donate. Here’s the link. Every little bit helps.
  2. If you can’t donate, there’s still lots of stuff you can do to help. Like helping me spread the word. That’s really, really, big-time help.
  3. RUNNING MUSIC SUGGESTIONS OMG. I suck at music. I don’t know anything. And I’m going to be running so many hours for so many weeks. And then the event itself is going to take me a couple of hours. So any and all running music suggestions are a huge huge huge huge huge huge help, you have no idea. Email me at theactivestick@gmail.com People usually say, “well, what do you like?” I don’t know. I’ll try anything to see if it works. And I will be so grateful.
  4. Fundraising ideas. I’m a n00b at this but if you’ve ever raised money for charity before and have suggestions for what worked for you, please let me know. Over at Eyes on The Prize, Berkshire and I are writing blog posts of your choice for donations. Any and all other ideas are always appreciated.

Thank you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mr. Miller permalink
    January 14, 2013 11:55 am

    Nothing says it better than “Fuck Cancer”. Good luck!

  2. Paul permalink
    January 14, 2013 12:07 pm

    Fundraising idea: sell parts of your body for varying amounts, then use iron on transfer sheets (like this: http://bit.ly/VFORDH) to have the donor’s name on the purchased part of your body. Sex sells, baby!

    PS: I’m very happy you’ve joined and I’m proud of you Laura!

  3. SkyKing permalink
    February 16, 2013 9:49 am

    Fuck Cancer is right on!!!

    I HATE that disease

  4. October 15, 2013 12:14 am

    Team In Training is a cult. I have personally witnessed it. But it’s an awesome cult, not one of those weirdo cults.

    I know this is too late, but I only tell you this because I know more TNT marathons will be in your future at some point. It IS a cult and running is the drug of choice. The few bachelor/bachelorette auctions I’ve seen have been huge ($2,000) fundraisers. Company matching gifts are also a nice way to supplement your donations. I’m not sure how into baking you or your friends are, but bake sales always make a decent profit. Same goes for sub sales or selling hot dogs in front of a big box store.

    Cancer sucks. Thank you for helping to kick its ass!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,771 other followers

