Skip to content

I like hockey

September 21, 2012

I love it, in fact. I think about it all the time, I miss it when it’s not around, and I’m considering driving to stupid places like Glens Falls, New York, to watch the AHL affiliate of someone else’s favourite NHL team play the AHL affiliate of some other team I don’t cheer for. I watch more hockey than is healthy. I talk about hockey more than I talk about anything else. I explain everyday life problems to people using hockey terms and hockey analogies. I’ve driven to preposterous places to see hockey games and I’ve flown to some awesome places to see hockey games. I love hockey enough to cheer for my team and take an interest in all of them (except Buffalo, cause like really). I love hockey so much it makes other people hate hockey. I wouldn’t be surprised if this lockout results in a newfound crack addiction.

I also love baseball. Not nearly as much as I love hockey, but enough let the Red Sox ruin my day when they play like they have since around this time last year. Enough to go to Toronto for the sole purpose of watching the Blue Jays play the White Sox. Enough to bandwagon the Detroit Tigers.

And yet… *looks down pants* …yep. I’m a woman.

A woman who likes sports. This is not a novelty. This is not even remotely close to an exception.

Can we please stop treating it as such? Can we maybe not write things like this, or publish things like that, or encourage things like this? And could we maybe stop it yesterday? All it ever does is perpetuate sterotypes about both women and men. Some have pointed out that it’s an attempt at humour. Yeah, I get that. The thing is, though? It’s a pretty catastrophic failure at it.

If this woman, or the ladies behind While The Men Watch, or any women like them don’t like sports, that’s fine. Not everyone likes sports. There are lots of men that just aren’t into it. It’s just… why are we still talking about things as though all women don’t like sports and all men do? While we’re at it, we need to stop making assumptions about people’s love of sports based on their sexual orientation, too.

It drives me nuts because it allows other people to stereotype me. It allows people to poke fun at and disregard my sports opinions because lol I’m a girl, and make assumptions about me because a girl who likes sports can’t be feminine or attractive lol. At the same time. It’s frustrating and insulting and discouraging all at the same time. And it’s never going to stop unless people stop writing/publishing/airing/promoting this crap.

(I should mention that that Globe and Mail piece wasn’t very flattering to men, either. Husbands aren’t the useless infantile idiots pieces like this portray them to be. They’re getting stereotyped just as much as we are by the meaningless drivel.)

So how about this: We stop pushing this and every other stereotype, move into this century, and write things that are actually worth reading. And also don’t ever call me one of “we gals,” because really, who says things like that?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lilybraden permalink
    September 21, 2012 1:43 pm

    As always….wonderful stuff.

  2. September 21, 2012 1:45 pm

    Ugh. I’m ridiculously upset about this. This needs to stop, and now.

  3. September 21, 2012 1:46 pm

    I have three main issues with the article

    a) It is so poorly written, especially for a big outlet like Globe and Mail, insulting to any women who like sports and disregarding the real impact of lockout on them

    b) Like you said, it portrays an awful image of men who have become much more supportive of the role of women in society and the image change like female sports fanatics. My idea of a relationship is to spend time together/enjoy things with my spouse as much as possible not find things to keep the guy distracted and not bother me. Who thinks that way?

    c) Some have taken the article as sarcasm or maybe a joke but I follow young girls on twitter (14-16 yr olds) who may not understant this as a joke. Did the author not think that she may be drawing up a false image of a women’s relationship with her spouse and her relationship with sports growing up?

    Great post Laura :)

  4. Conor McKenna permalink
    September 21, 2012 1:46 pm

    I think I speak for all men besides Miss Robertson’s husband when I say that the Lingerie Football League does not fill the void left by a world without NHL hockey.

  5. Pseu permalink
    September 21, 2012 2:10 pm

    I had to check the calendar to make sure it was still 2012 after reading that article. And as a woman who actually married a man I like, I was mostly just confused and a little concerned by all the — I guess they were jokes? — about how horrible it was going to be to have to spend time with our husbands this season.

  6. September 22, 2012 2:03 pm

    I don’t have a husband, nor am I one, but that whole concept of finding something to distract one’s spouse is ludicrous. Coming from a family in which many of the women enjoy sports, both watching and playing, it would be nice if we could be appreciated as such. Multiple great points made up above pt towards others feeling the same way, both male and female. Sport is not for one gender.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,516 other followers

