Skip to content

Bruins-Habs Game 3: Gurggg

April 19, 2011

A picture Amanda tweeted of our gamefaces.

  • I blame the brooms. Some dudes showed up with brooms. To Game 3. Brooms. Game 3. Brooms.
  • I also blame my desire to chant “Thank You Kessel” at the Bruins for that loss. Act like a Bruins fan, watch your team lose. It’s simple.
  • I don’t care what team you cheer for, or even if you like hockey. Put a playoff game at the Bell Centre on your bucket list now now now. Now.
  • Here’s the story of the series: whoever plays Jacques Martin hockey better wins the game.
  • The Habs were really nervous and jumpy to start, but when they settled in, oh, about over halfway through the game, they absolutely dominated. Maybe next time they’ll only take a quarter of the game to settle down and we’ll be in business.
  • To be honest, I really don’t have a good feeling about the Bruins running off to sequester themselves at Lake Placid while the Habs stay in this mess. The lovely LawyerGirl77, however, pointed out that J-Mart probably has some plan to sequester the Habs, too.
  • Don’t forget that without that monstrous gaffe Price made, it’s a tie game. Carey isn’t going to make many monstrous gaffes like that again in his career, I don’t think.
  • David Krejci appears to have removed his head from his ass.
  • That said, when you’re relying on David Krejci to generate your team’s offence…
  • The Bruins did this ‘immediately collapse around Thomas’ thing almost every time the Habs got in their zone in the first and second. Not so much in the third. Because they couldn’t get there fast enough.
  • Did you notice that the US Anthem was not booed? Could it be that we are evolving?
  • My good friend Jon met myself and Amanda before the game and came up with the most excellent idea. Whenever an American player scores for the Habs, the Bell Centre should erupt in USA! USA! USA! chants. I won’t be at the next game, but if you are, you better make that shit happen.
  • That third period was something else. Exciting, frustrating, heartbreaking, encouraging.
  • Apologies for the bullet points being short this time. My brain and the rest of me are a little broken.
14 Comments leave one →
  1. Will permalink
    April 19, 2011 9:33 am

    I usually spend like 15 minutes trying to come up with a somewhat respectable post title and yet somehow “Gurggg” trumps them all.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 19, 2011 2:55 pm

      I love your post titles. Now you know that the 15 minutes of deliberation do not go unappreciated.

      With whatever I’ve written, whether as a wannabe poet, wannabe novelist, wannabe essayist, wannabe journalist or wannabe bloggist, I’ve always found that the titles are always the hardest part. It’s not just you. So thank you for your comment :)

  2. April 19, 2011 10:02 am

    Awesome!

    Your 6th bullet is spot on – whoever scores first and applies the sleeper hold will win the game.

    Can you believe that I have never been to a Habs playoff game at the Bell Center? How lame am I? I went to a bunch of playoff games at the Forum, which was incomparable, but that also means it’s been at least 15 years since I’ve been to a Habs playoff game.

    Of course, I was at game 7 last year when they opened up the Bell Center to watch on the big screen…if that counts then I guess my streak ended.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 19, 2011 2:57 pm

      Kyle. That is tragic. I don’t know anyone who would enjoy it more than you. Next time I hear of any tickets becoming available I’ma get in touch with you first.

  3. Harry M permalink
    April 19, 2011 10:19 am

    Good post and glad you were at the game!

    While Krejci is a fragile player. The Habs don’t have a forward who match his talent and skill. Not even close.

    The new Forum (could never call it the Bell Center)is filled with barbarians who start idiotic chants. Nothing compares to the old one! Class, dignity and championships were the norm in the old one.

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 19, 2011 3:00 pm

      I don’t know if I want to touch that Krejci comment.

      Or the barbarian comment. The BC was really impressive last night.

  4. April 19, 2011 10:50 am

    The were definitely to jittery and jumpy the first half. Probably nerves from playing at home (yah…no pressure) and a bit too lax from coming home with a 2-0 series. But the jokes are all over now, and Les Boys are gonna get this. ^_^

    Could the lack of USA anthem boo-ing be because they said the anthem was being sung for *our* American players? Or do they do that every game? I miss the anthem part sometimes (cuz, you know…TSN doesn’t show that part but CBC does).

    GO HABS GO!!

    • theactivestick permalink*
      April 19, 2011 2:59 pm

      They’ve done it for many games before, but this is the first time I didn’t hear a single boo or Go Habs Go chant. The BC was super-respectful, either singing along with Prevost-Linton or keeping quiet.

  5. April 19, 2011 3:00 pm

    When I saw those brooms, I knew.

    Great post, as usual.

  6. smalrus permalink
    April 19, 2011 3:01 pm

    Kyle- I think you meant bullet #5. Cause wow, that one is dead on. And how have you not been to a Bell Centre playoff game? I’ve been to one there and one at the Molson Centre…

    That said, you’re both right on #6… I watched the game at midnight and it honestly was a hell of a game. The speed was ridiculous — almost Western Conference-ish. All it showed was that in 9 periods played, the Bruins played ONE and almost a half periods of good hockey while the Habs have played about 5 or 6.

  7. smalrus permalink
    April 19, 2011 3:04 pm

    That said, despite the loss, you guys did NOT have to listen to Jack Edwards’s commentating. I’ve seen shitty broadcasting, biased broadcasting (obviously local market broadcasts do it)… but last night was downright one of the most unprofessional broadcasts I’ve seen.

    Imagine if Don Cherry held Coach’s Corner during the game, for an entire game — it may have been even more unprofessional than that.

    • Harry M permalink
      April 19, 2011 10:47 pm

      You should check out the French feed during Habs games. Makes Edwards look neutral. Edwards is a blast!

      • April 20, 2011 7:46 am

        Honestly, the RDS guys are tame compared to Edwards. Benoit Brunet is far from perfect and neutral, but Pierre Houde would never say the kind of nonsense Edwards constantly feeds Bruins fans with. That said, I perfectly understand it’s a bit tongue in cheek and he doesn’t need to be taken seriously.

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Pucking Grind. Intense Blend. April 19th. | The Rat Trick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,202 other followers

