Skip to content

Friday Post: The Mildly NSFW Edition

October 15, 2010

This Friday post is a random collection of things I’ve been thinking about over the course of the week, a slight departure from the usual. The post I was working on was derailed by the celebration of some really exciting news I received yesterday. It’s not lost forever, though, it’s just waiting to be completed, kind of like a pass from a Montreal Canadiens defenseman to one of his forwards… wait.

En tout cas, here’s some stuff:

The Gesture

(maybe be cautious with the video if you’re at work)

A comparison we keep bringing up: James Wisniewski mimed oral sex at Sean Avery and got a two-game suspension, while Nick Boynton got one game for making threatening throat-slashy gestures at some dudes on the Tampa Bay Lightening.

So, basically, according to the NHL, it’s better to threaten to kill someone than it is to promise them a good time.

How very GOP.

Maxim Lapierre got no games for his attempted decapitation of Steve Downie Wednesday night. Does that mean that threatening to kill someone is worse than attempting to kill them? What would the NHL have done if Wisniewski had attempted to… you know? (I can’t bring myself to say it because we’re talking about Sean Avery.) And are certain gestures worth more suspension bang for their taunting buck than blow job gestures? Like, what if Wiz had mimed just a hand job? What about swinging-from-the-rafters-monkey-sex? What if he’d added embellishments to the original gesture and ended up with something you’d find on Urban Dictionary? And what if his gesture had been aimed at Sid instead of Sean?

 

Unlike Mike

 

Intense Cammalleri via RDS

 

What’s eating Michael Cammalleri, lately? His current petulant child persona is the opposite of what we’ve come to expect of him. One of my coworkers brought up the possibility that he’s pissed about not getting a letter, but everything I know about Cammalleri says he’s too much of a professional for that to be it. He looks too motivated for that to be it. He’s just got a very short (hee) fuse all of a sudden, and I want to know why.

Things I will be doing in April

 

Time for a rerun of the Higgy picture. Thanks again to TheRatTrick.com!

 

My love for Christopher Higgins is out of control. OUT. OF. CONTROL. I guess you can’t fault my commitment, though – I have successfully managed to put whatever little dignity I have as a Habs fan on the line over variations of the belief that Chris Higgins will have a good season, damn it.

So here is a list of things I will be doing after the end of the regular season:

  • Posting a picture of myself in a Pittsburgh Penguins jersey on this blog. There’s no time limit on this, the post will just stay here forever. I will be doing a LOT of writing that week…
  • Wearing a Mike Komisarek Leafs jersey to Kilgour’s (a Habs-VERY-friendly bar in Toronto) for a subsequent Habs-Leafs game. I will get my ass kicked.
  • Publicly “admitting” that Tyler Bozak is a top line center, publicly “admitting” that Higgy sucks… and that he prefers blondes (???)
  • Wearing a Florida Panthers jersey out in public. An Olli Jokinen Florida Panthers jersey. Out in public.
  • Some Price is not as good as I think he is stuff that I’m currently slightly vague on but I know it will hurt. In my heart.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 9:34 am

    Great read. Except about the blowjob gesture. Keeping in mind that somehow, violence has become more tolerable then sex for youngsters (mostly all TV shows and movies depict some sort of violence, even in the cartoon-y toy story or up or whatever) you can’t really blame the NHL on this one. A throat cutting gesture is simply acceptable for mostly all ages. I know someone who has a youngster (3 years old) who told their mommy to “died”. Mother was furious, but I guarantee you she’d probably freak out more if her three year old asked what a blowjob is. For people older, teenagers and whatever this is ridiculous because who the hell really cares? Well I for one care more about the blowjob thing then the throat slashing thing, because I remember vividly watching hockey with my dad at a young age. I would’ve asked what that meant, and I wouldn’t want ot be my dad who explains that to his 4 year old boy.

  2. Frank (therattrick.com) permalink
    October 15, 2010 3:24 pm

    My laugh for the day which was much needed came when I read the line:

    “So, basically, according to the NHL, it’s better to threaten to kill someone than it is to promise them a good time.

    Fabulous description of the incident. That said, it seems as though we’ll never make sense of these infractions. Seems to be way too much wiggle room.

    Regarding Higgy and your love for him, so far even though he’s scoreless the fans love his work ethic and can tell that the goals will come.

  3. Number31 permalink
    October 16, 2010 2:11 am

    What’s eating Cammy? I think he’s still pissed he got suspended, missed the opener in Toronto and saw the team lose when they probably could have won, and that his lightsaber didn’t cut off Nino’s leg like it was supposed to.

    Only cure for that is to get a hat trick, Cammy.

  4. Harry M permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:00 am

    Great read Active Stick. Former Bruin ‘great’ Nick Boynton is about eight years behind for making threatening throat gestures. This was popular earlier in the decade by college football and NFL thugs. A fine would do just fine for these gestures. Lets get rid of the head hunting first before suspended these guys for acting like teenagers.

    I find the “Grand Old Party” comment baseless by the way!

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Link Party | The Rat Trick | A Florida Panthers Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,516 other followers

