Skip to content

Taking on an evil giant

March 22, 2010

As you know, I have a ton of respect for the folks at PensionPlanPuppets (even though I am not, for the last time, stalking any of them). But every once in a while you have to get into it with a Leafs fan. Cause you do.

It all started when MetricJulie tweeted about her upcoming segment on the Team990 with TorontoMike,

who posted this: Barlkosphere: Is there anything specific I should tell Montreal during my time on Team 990? Besides the obvious, that they suck…

So mlse, also known as PPP, tweeted this: Yes, tell them that last night some goons in front of us started singing “ole” during tied game. So we sang it after win. And this: Also, tell them to enjoy their four extra games this year.

I couldn’t resist: Enjoy the playo- I mean the dra- I mean golf

mlse: First Round Exit (clap, clap, clapclapclap) First Round Exit (clap, clap, clapclapclap)

theactivestick: Also I forgot. Enjoy the Blue J- ah fuck it, Let’s Go Golfing (clap, clap, clapclapclap)

mlse: Oh yeah, the Jays stink but I am sure the Exp…oh yeah.

Space Weed chimes in:  What, me and mlse can’t hear you with our Nutrilite Canadian Championship over our ears [For the 100 per cent of you that just wondered what the hell that was, it's a competition between the Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver FCs to decide who's going to represent Canada at the CONCACAF Champions League, in other words, which team is going to lose at the CONCACAF Champions league.]

mlse: Boom. Roasted.

theactivestick: Julie I think these Leafies are hitting on us.

Meanwhile, torontomike is making a pretty good appearance on the Team990 (you’ll find the audio here) and is being asked what Leafs fans do when their team is eliminated from the playoffs before they even start every year,

and mlse posts this: Ask him if he already forgot 2006-2007 when the Leafs eliminated the Habs from the playoffs? What did they do then?

theactivestick: Watched the Leafs get eliminated through a game they weren’t even in right after?

mlse: So you guys do have some memory of being worse than the Leafs for the majority of the last 15 years.

theactivestick: Honest answer? Of course. You guys have the All-Heart video, we have the Saku comes back video. And also the 24 cups.

mlse: Sure, that last one was almost 20 years ago. Kids born that year were old enough to drive cars you guys burned last year

theactivestick: You can’t say we don’t know how to throw a party around here.

By this time MetricJulie has challenged TorontoMike to a bet on the air because he thinks he has seen the future, and that the Habs are going to be swept cleanly out of the playoffs in the first round. TorontoMike accepts, and if you think of any ideas for terms for their bet, please direct them Julie’s way.

theactivestick: If metricjulie is willing to bet against torontomike I’d be willing to man up and bet mlse

mlse doesn’t respond for a while…

metricjulie: When we win our bet against torontomike and mlse, drinks are on me.

theactivestick: You mean drinks are on them 

Kibbles chimes in with the line of the night: Loser has to be a leaf fan

theactivestick: torontomike can you please get mlse to grow a pair and accept my bet? kthx

mlse: HAHAHA terms?

theactivestick:  Well you said we’ll only enjoy four games, you sticking with that?

mlse: Sure, I’ll stick to my convictions.

theactivestick: Sounds good. I’ll think of something sufficiently embarrassing and get back to you in a bit.

mlse: No need to embarrass yourself too much. Watching your team be swept will be painful enough.

theactivestick: I’m thinking this will involve Max Pacioretty in some capacity…

So yeah, I ain’t scared of no PPP or the predictions of a couple of Leafs fans with possibly hundreds of times the readers I have… I have faith in my Habs, and I’m not actually sure what the terms of the bet are going to be yet, but MaxPac is a good place to start, I think. His sweater number is every Leafs fan’s favourite.

UPDATE: You will find the terms we decided on somewhere in this post.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 8:53 am

    OUHHH

    SHIT JUST GOT REAL

    Thanks for putting this up, Active.

    If anyone has ideas for my bet with TorontoMike, please let me know by tweeting @metricjulie or sending me an email at info@metricjulie.com

    Kudos, Active, for your bet with MLSE. He is definitely a worthy opponent.

    And I can’t wait to collect on our bet.

  2. March 22, 2010 9:14 am

    The only reason Montreal fans love Pacioretty is because of that jersey number; he might as well change his number because any association of that number for a duration of time means non-production.

    Then again, the Leafs had just as many playoff wins as Montreal did last year. GO LEAFS GO!

  3. March 22, 2010 9:48 am

    I look forward to you figuring out the terms of the bet although I don’t expect much creativity from a fanbase that knows just one insult ;)

  4. Smilinggainey permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:53 pm

    One thing I noticed last night was that you guys all turned the page on what was a black mark for the Habs fan base and got back to some good ol shit talking.

    Toronto Mike came on to discuss the blackface fiasco, something which was making fans in TO see Montreal a little differently. It’s been discussed to death and thanks to Julie and theActiveStick, some people are able to get past that.

  5. ElieAintabi permalink
    March 22, 2010 1:33 pm

    Terms: the loser has to buy a jersey of the winners favorite team with the name the winner chooses.

    Example:
    theactivestick buys a Kessel / Gustavvsen jersey
    mlse buys a Lapierre / Darche jersey

    Loser has to wear it at next game in 2010/2011 that the teams meet, either at ACC or Bell center.

    How much would you pay to see MLSE at the ACC for the first Habs / Leafs game rocking a lapierre jersey?

    • theactivestick permalink*
      March 24, 2010 1:20 am

      I’m not going to lie. I would pay good money. Just none of my own money.

  6. September 6, 2011 7:04 am

    Let’s talk.

Trackbacks

  1. Sports news » Blog Archive » Five Reasons Pension Plan Puppets Love Hockey
  2. Five Reasons Pension Plan Puppets Love Hockey | Football News Update
  3. Lawyer Don Hecker Announcement » Sometimes I run my mouth. Anyone here has probably seen an instance of that or two. I tend to have…
  4. Sometimes I run my mouth. Anyone here has probably seen an instance of that or two. I tend to have… « Ready Made Media Web Announcement
  5. The Story of Us: How I became a Montreal Canadiens fan « The Active Stick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,203 other followers

